Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

great experience

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: large beautiful well maintained property
Cons: help desk for activities definitely needs improvement. also, conceirge takes very long for any work- bringing your car, getting the luggage etc
Location: you can drive to nearby villages. there is clay pigeon shooting, archery and horse riding. also on location they have a great segway trip.
Cameron house is one of the loveliest properties we have stayed at. Beautiful well maintained property. Very luxurious and lots of activities nearby. We had one problem with the hotel though. The lady incharge of booking activities for hotel guests ( Becky) was not at all helpful. she told us everything was full and we could not do anything for our full 3 days there. so, we had to individually call all activity suppliers and book privately. Eventually landed up doing everything we wanted to do- but with absolutely no help from hotel activity help desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Lovely Hotel, poor service

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The Carrick Spa is very nice, but its 2 miles away from the hotel.
Cons: Staff training! especially in the bar area.
Location: Great location. Walks are very accessible.
Poor service / no attention in the lounge bar, which tainted our arrival experience. Luggage left lying around in reception while we waited for room to become available (overdue). Promised a call to announce our room is ready, which never occurred. We had to enquire again about our room, having waited in the bar for two hours getting angry with lack of attention in the bar!! Reception staff not very engaging. We couldn't believe our luggage (including suit/dress bags) where left in the middle of the lobby the whole time we waited. Having waited for our room, we found the room facing a populated conference room. Our stay did improve a little (it is actually nice hotel! and great location), since we managed to change the room the next day, but we generally felt unwelcome there – it’s a pity. I explained this on checkout, but the receptionist didn't appear to be very interested. Never mind! If ever we head back to loch lomond, I'll find somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Surroundings, room size, food, activity choice, fantastic spa.
Cons: Consistency of staff service.
Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings - and an abundance of activities to keep us entertained even in the persistent rain! We thought the breakfast choice was especially excellent. The one area we would suggest could be improved is consistency of staff service in the dining and bar areas, although we could not fault the service we received by reception/porters/spa/leisure staff. Whilst all were very friendly, we found on a few occasions our orders (at the bar, breakfast, dinner) would be mixed up, late and on some occasions forgotten. We also found the levels of attentiveness (refilling drinks/teas/coffees) varied at times also (even if it wasn't busy). It's a shame the servie wasn't quite 5 star to match the overall quality of the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: It was charming
Cons: The drench shower had no power
Location: Beautiful location , stunning . We did a boat trip , a bit of walking and also enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the bar while enjoying the view .
Lovely hotel and staff , in beautiful relaxing surroundings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec Canada

Close but not close

Posted Jul 30, 2017
A great Hotel, four and a half star My bed had crumbs in it??? For the rest if you want to eat on site reserve because we could not have a table. So a very friendly desk staff found us a great little pub in the next town. I think we were better of with this option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Driving up to this hotel is amazing. The setting is absolutely beautiful . The hotel grounds are full of flowers and the views of the lake are gorgeous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Great hotel, great location. We have stayed here over 4 nights in the last 3 months. we love it and have recommended it to all out friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Reservations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely feedback. Until next time... Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Beautiful old hotel building gutted for 21stC comf

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Great old mansion on great Loch Lomond location. Luxurious room and fine pub dinner and breakfast. Since our stay was at the end of a three-week tour of fine hotels in Scotland, I'd say that value for money is less than ideal for this level. And the hotel feels slightly institutional and thus unchRming because it seems so huge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Reservations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on another occasion in the near future. Thank you again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake District

Scottish Baronial on shores of Loch Lomond

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Variety of dining experiences, loch-side location.
Cons: As outlined above - the breakfast service, and delays regarding luggage collection.
Location: We were returning from several days exploring Scotland so didn't go out of hotel grounds but enjoyed the feeling of space.
Helpful staff at check-in. Well-appointed room with view of Loch. Grounds very well-kept - enjoyable walk down to loch. Overall the hotel is smart and comfortable. However, breakfast experience terrible. At 9.40 told to wait 15 mins - people everywhere sitting around in corridor. Returned at 10.15, still 15 mins to wait, but advised we could have breakfast in Great Scot Bar. Served a fantastic breakfast on balcony by a couple of attentive staff - brilliant experience so why isn't this alternative arrangement passed on to other guests? Leaving the hotel also involved a long wait as although checked out quickly we had to wait 40 mins or more for our luggage to be collected from room. Clearly the (very helpful) porters have too many guests to deal with. Good thing we weren't on our way to catch a plane or train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, USA

Elegant

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent interior design and spectacular lakeside location.
Location: Biking to the castle park across the lake is lovely.
We wanted a luxury hotel, and Cameron House delivered. It felt very special. I like historic hotels, but often they are a bit frayed at the edges. Cameron House manages to combine historical grandeur with a fresh feel. It was traditional and energetic -- a difficult combination to achieve. My room didn't have a great view (I reserved "garden view" and got "car park view",) but the room itself was so nicely designed and decorated that I still loved it. My only gripe -- and it is a small one -- was with the staff. They seemed expert at providing friendly reasons for why they couldn't solve problems (e.g. my car park view or a flavorless mushroom soup at the otherwise excellent restaurant.) I am from the US, but my British companions said this is this is just British culture and is not particular to the hotel. Overall, this was the best hotel at which I stayed in Scotland. I rate it 5 stars.