Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Nice

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Position and car valet
Cons: Grout on tiles in bathroom
Location: N/A
Good only there 1 night and it was very very cold outside in the minuses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Midweek break

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Wonderful stay at this amazing hotel with our son daughter in law and grandson. Staff couldn't have been nicer. Will definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Caneron House Hotel. We had a loch view room and the view was stunning. The facilities are excellent and we would definitely go back however we were slightly disappointed that the heating in the room kept blowing cold air. They did send up maintenance but unfortunately the air still blew cold all night / not great on a frosy November evening. The breakfast was lovely but on the first morning we had already finished breakfast before the waitress turned up with tea and coffee. On checking out we were presented with a bill which included about £170 for an evening meal that we did not have. The receptionist sorted this quickly thankfully. Would definitely return as staff were really friendly too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Dissappointed

Posted Dec 2, 2017
The hotel itself is lovely. The customer service however, was poor. Our room wasn't ready on arrival. Finally got it an hour and a half later. This made us late for our spa. Requested a twin room got a double. Served warm white wine with our dinner. We were not offered the chance to try it. 4 light bulbs out in the room making it exceptionally dark. Had to make repeated requests to get them fixed. Painters with their equipment in the hall at night. We had to walk through this as no other way to get to our room. The general attitude of staff and the way we were treated was not what I was expecting of a 5 star resort. Also emailed them to complain - No response.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troon

Beautiful Hotel, check-in screw up

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Check in is supposed to be 15:00. Our room was not ready until 17:30 ( when I say our room- it was actually someone else's room judging by the welcome card and chocolates. Also we had booked a double and were given a twin). Our luggage did not arrive until 17:45 which meant I had to rearrange our dinner reservation at 18:00 @ the boat house. The meal at the Boat house was average at best- Frankie and Bennies food for three times the price. I feel for the grandeur of the hotel and for the price, the service should be a lot better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing hotel, disappointing reservations

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: We loved the cosy décor and welcoming feeling.
Cons: The restaurant booking system really needs to be improved - we essentially could not eat in the hotel because everything was booked out.
Location: Loch Lomond offers such a huge amount of things to do from cycling, taking a sea plane, long walks or visiting The Carrick spa!
We absolutely loved the hotel, grounds and rooms and we could not find fault with anything in this respect. However, we were really disappointed that we were not able to get a reservation at any of the restaurants for the only evening we were staying at the hotel. This meant we had to go and find another restaurant else where. The hotel did manage to book us into the Claret Jug restaurant for Sunday lunch but when we arrived we were told the restaurant was closed of a private function. Again we had to go and find somewhere else for lunch. We were very disappointed and not the sort of service we would expect from a hotel of this calibre. We were advised that the restaurants book up very early in advance and that we should have pre-booked - having never visited the hotel before, we did not know this was the case and if this is indeed the norm, we really think the hotel should give people warning or perhaps send an email to advise about the restaurant bookings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brechin, Angus

Beautiful hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Cameron House is the most stunning hotel we have stayed in. All staff were helpful and friendly and the room was beautiful. The only downside to our visit was our flight on the seaplane was cancelled due to windy conditions. We will certainly be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

2 night Stay 6th & 7th November

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely setting.
Cons: Quicker check in, service not up to the standard of a true five star hotel.
Arrived as a party of four, two rooms booked, car valet parking was good and arrived at reception shortly before the 'official' check in time of 3pm. Despite being four people manning reception and only one person in front of us, took over 5 minutes and nearer 10 before we were called forward to check in. Our room was ready but the other room was not, so said they would call us when room was ready, no call received by 3.45pm so had to chase up and after another wait the room was 'ready'. On entering the room there were chocolates and a note saying welcome but they had another guest name on them, the mini bar was also missing items, so had not been checked. Also tried to charge us for these items on checking out. We were booked in on bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast quality of food was excellent, although had to chase up toast orders, butter missing from table etc. Minor points but hotel classes itself as 5 star. We had dinner at the Boathouse the first night, pretty basic but good food at reasonable prices, seemed popular with young families, service was good. Lunch next day was at the Caret jug, limited menu and food took age to arrive, quality ok.Dinner next night at the Cameron Grill was good but, drinks order was wrong, also spoiled by staff setting up tables for breakfast! We played the Carrick golf course on the Monday and the professional described the course as 'saturated', I would have used the word unplayable and the course should not have been open.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

loveley location but disappointing stay

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Traveled as a couple. This hotel is in a beautiful setting and is a lovely building. BUT unfortunately our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at 15.20, waited in bar for about 40 mins. Room in attic, claustrophobic, freezing cold during the night unable to work out complicated heating system to try and get heating on. Shower tray very shallow which overflowed when in shower, carpet at toilet door damp, presumably due to this. Long dark hairs on toilet floor, mine is short and blonde so not mine, paper on carpet. Meal at boathouse restautant disappointing and expensive for what we had, £110, for two courses and two drinks. Had to queue to get into restaurant at breakfast in the morning although breakfast was good. We have stayed at this hotel several times and really enjoyed it, staff always very friendly and helpful as they were this time but unfortunately this stay was very disappointing for the reasons I’ve said, the hotel was very busy, think this maybe due to fireworks display night before, although the hotel being busy shouldn’t mean standards should drop. Hopefully if we stay again it will be different.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mostly fabulous.....

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Lots of great about this hotel. We came for 3 nights and didn’t leave the site. Location is stunning; plenty of facilities; fishing with Alan was brilliant; balcony with fire-pits; Boathouse restaurant nice food and atmosphere if you have a family - special mention to Jen our waitress who has such a great outlook and attitude (she deserves employee of the month- thanks); valet parking and shuttle service really good; pool great fun; activities guy David who does archery and Segway is fabulous; food quality was excellent in all restaurants. However 2 things for improvement: 1. breakfast was chaotic at times. Having to wait 15 minutes in a cramped room with people trying to get juices and food whilst there were LOTS of empty tables that hadn’t been cleared. Then we get a letter saying to come to breakfast earlier! NO! Hire a couple of people simply to clear and clean. Can’t imagine what it’s like when the hotel is full. 2. You need better staff in the bar. We waited ages to get served; tables were dirty; tables were not cleared when people left; nobody took our room number so we could easily walk out without paying (which one waiter told us happens a lot!); waiters need to be more proactive and more engaged - they mostly look fed up! On multiple occasions we had to chase either service or our order. Overall fabulous stay.