Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will definitely return

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The friendly service & good position
Cons: They're doing that at the moment
Location: We were visiting relatives but in easy drive of Glasgow & not too far from Edinburgh
Inspite of carrying out renovations, the Dumbuck was clean, tidy & very welcoming. We were given a suit at a very reasonable price & the ensuit was fantastic. Breakfast, which was included in the price was excellent, both continental & full Scottish were available. The evening meals were well cooked and presented. I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone and will definitely be returning there when next visiting Dumbarton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Spacious room, great staff

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Close to airport, large rooms, great staff
Cons: The restaurant was closed due to renovations, so they are making improvements and are updating the place.
Location: Downtown Glasgow.
We stayed here one night before flying out of Glasgow. The room was the largest one we saw during our Scotland stay, and the staff really aimed to please. The place is a bit tired but they are doing some renovations and I think it will be a great hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crewe UK

A warm welcome to a tired hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The hotel is in desperate need of renovation (and this was just beginning when we stayed there). The room was in need of deep cleaning and substantial repair. The staff were very friendly and kind and the breakfast was both tasty and generous, if of variable quality in its preparation. I will stay there again, once the renovations are complete!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisey

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: nowt
Cons: all
banging and load music started 3-30 in the morning no staff to be found to complain
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Good spot outside of town

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The staff , the location
Cons: Public areas need a fresh coat of paint
Location: Loch Lomond and Glasgow something for everyone
Staff were very helpful. I had a cold and waitress at dinner brought me some hot water lemon and honey without being asked. There was a problem with the room I had booked but this had been resolved before I arrived by upgrading me to the honey moon suite. The staff were fantastic and breakfast and dinner were value for money. Good location for Dunbarton and the wider area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff
Cons: Needs some updating
Location: It was very convenient for what we needed
We came for one night and stayed two. They were very busy but it didn't interfere with our stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booked 2 nights away here

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Nice base for exploring the area. Should you be as fortunate as us and get beautiful weather, loch lomand isnt too far away. Glasgow is also pretty much on the doorstep. Hotel looked a bit rundown from outside but it was all part of the charm as interior was nice and quirky and rooms were of a decent size. The place had a lot of character. There were two main things that let out stay down 1 was the bed could feel springs in mattress we both had aching backs come morning and 2 there was a gap under the rooms door when shut so any bit of noise from the corridor wasnt in the slightest bit muffled other than that lovely breakfast, mostly pleasant staff and a nice atmosphere. Would stay again if i was in the area.
4 out of 5
by Moira

Friendly welcoming hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
There was working being done outside while we were there though it didn't affect us in any way. The staff were all very friendly, hotel was spotless we did suggest the bed could benefit from a mattress topper other than that very happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Perfect location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Booked at the last minute and only stayed the one night but wish it could have been longer, surroundings good ,staff good,facilities good. Room was lovely My only complaint is the hotel could do with a little touch up in some areas