Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisey

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: nowt
Cons: all
banging and load music started 3-30 in the morning no staff to be found to complain
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Good spot outside of town

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The staff , the location
Cons: Public areas need a fresh coat of paint
Location: Loch Lomond and Glasgow something for everyone
Staff were very helpful. I had a cold and waitress at dinner brought me some hot water lemon and honey without being asked. There was a problem with the room I had booked but this had been resolved before I arrived by upgrading me to the honey moon suite. The staff were fantastic and breakfast and dinner were value for money. Good location for Dunbarton and the wider area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff
Cons: Needs some updating
Location: It was very convenient for what we needed
We came for one night and stayed two. They were very busy but it didn't interfere with our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booked 2 nights away here

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Nice base for exploring the area. Should you be as fortunate as us and get beautiful weather, loch lomand isnt too far away. Glasgow is also pretty much on the doorstep. Hotel looked a bit rundown from outside but it was all part of the charm as interior was nice and quirky and rooms were of a decent size. The place had a lot of character. There were two main things that let out stay down 1 was the bed could feel springs in mattress we both had aching backs come morning and 2 there was a gap under the rooms door when shut so any bit of noise from the corridor wasnt in the slightest bit muffled other than that lovely breakfast, mostly pleasant staff and a nice atmosphere. Would stay again if i was in the area.
4 out of 5
by Moira

Friendly welcoming hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
There was working being done outside while we were there though it didn't affect us in any way. The staff were all very friendly, hotel was spotless we did suggest the bed could benefit from a mattress topper other than that very happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Perfect location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Booked at the last minute and only stayed the one night but wish it could have been longer, surroundings good ,staff good,facilities good. Room was lovely My only complaint is the hotel could do with a little touch up in some areas
3 out of 5
by ivan

Disappointed

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Food was good, room looked nice but nothing worked. Window fixed in position with 3/4inch gap at the top, wall heater not working, tiny little electric radiator was supplied (but made no impact on heating the room), floor lamp not working and on/off for shower broken (had to be switched on and off by the isolater switch in the bedrom). Did not e-mail receipt for food and rinks (as promised) and have not responded to a request for receipt from their website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, noisy guests

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, decor
Cons: Room cleanliness, staff should inform guests of late night parties
Location: Loch lomond very close, Dumbarton castle as well
My room was nicely decorated but a lot smaller and plainer than any of the rooms pictured. The cups for tea and coffee seemed like they hadn't been cleaned properly if at all and the main light wasn't working. The bathroom was nice and clean with a good selection of free toiletries. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, breakfast was also good. There was a football group having a party in the function room which I wasn't warned about. I had to phone down to reception to ask about the noise. It would have been good to have been told about that on check in, the party lasted til midnight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel and good value for money

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for a couple of nights, Very friendly staff, The downstairs area of the hotel, (Lounge, Bar & restaurant areas) were very clean & tidy, The room was a good size, The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment which can be seen as a work in progress, Good value for money, would stay again if in the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels