Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Borders

Nice on outside... Not so nice inside

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Hotel is misleading from outside as well as information on web... nice photo on wed.. room are Totally different in Reality... feel cheap and nasty.... (rooms) Food... is good.. nice dinner as well as breakfast good I have stayed here before and was very good.. that’s reason I went back... I will Not be going back now... what Has Happened To This Hotel.. Use To Be Very Good Come On... Get Your Finger Out....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Market Harborough

Wonderful friendly staff

Posted Oct 31, 2017
There just for one night, beautiful old building with the pros and cons that accompany that, but if you do get lost ask a member of staff, they are plentiful exceedingly friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, certainly clean and with all the facilities you would expect. Was there for a conference and in the morning parking seemed to be an issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montrose

Close outdoor family event

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Friendly staff. Room clean and comfortable. Dinner was reasonable and buffet breakfast ideal for family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Installations were ver y good but the room was small for 4 persona. We can't open the suitcase. There no space!! And the room was dirty when we arrived( chocolats papers over the floor)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Disappointing visit!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The building and the location
Cons: Costumer service
Location: Stirling Castle
Beautiful historic building and location. Unfortunately, the family room was very disappointing! the room was too small for a family, impossible to move around the room when sofa bed was open. There was a big dent in the bed that made it most uncomfortable to sleep on. This was the worst bed we had throughout our Scotland trip. Even more disappointing was the reception manager's attitude on our check out. We booked a special deal that included dinner bed and breakfast. The deal was booked through Expedia for 2 adults and 2 children. Surprisingly, we were asked by the manager to pay for the kids breakfast although I have showed him a written confirmation from Expedia that the deal included the kids breakfast. This did not make any difference, he insisted we pay again saying this is due to the fact we booked through Expedia. We left the hotel feeling upset,,annoyed and disappointed. Obviously, this manager is not an expert on costumer service relations. A letter of complain has been submitted. We will not return again.
1 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Disappointment at Dunblane!! The stay at Dunblane was very disappointing. The room we were given was on the top floor (No. 420) Very, very hot room NO aircon very small window with just a large fan to try to circulate the warm air. This excessive heat made sleeping difficult. The UHT milk left for us to use had "gone off". Staff did then bring us some (apparently) fresh milk. When we came to have a cup of tea the next morning that "FRESH" milk had turned into an almost solid JELLY and of course couldn't be used!!! I tried to empty the almost solid milk down the sink and when I removed the sink plug to ease disposal it revealed a heap of dirt / filth / hair in the plug hole.. clearly not been cleaned for some time? Food in the restaurant not as expected....steak was quality however the chips were burnt and the plates cold... therefore keeping the steak hot did not occur!! My wife's duck was tough. Walkway from the main carpark at the rear of the buildings to the front down some steps revealed that the bottom step was broken... it could be easy for a more elderly person to slip there and hurt themselves. All in all a pretty poor experience for what I was led to believe was a quality Hotel Chain. I guess like most businesses the company is looking to cut costs and generally by doing that the service goes down. At Hilton Hydro the experience is poor and not one that I or indeed my family would want to repeat. Perhaps someone could respond to these concerns?
5 out of 5
by Shaun

Beautiful hotel in an amazing location

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a great setting. The food is very good (make sure you confirm your dinner reservation in advance) and the staff are all very helpful. Great facilities should the weather turn and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Dunblane is only a 5 minute walk away with a range of shops, bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Family

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel on the outside and area.
5 out of 5
by Wan-hsuan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels