Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Dinner was excellent. Very good food and hotel catered well for special dietary requirements.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Great food. Pool lovely. Furnishings a little dark but impressive building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place with a true Scots feel about it

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Lovely place, nice setting and feels very Scottish
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

overall

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Situation Staff Good value
Cons: As Above
Location: Cathedral Tappit hen pub Bridge of Weir Museum Unable to see town due to road works and lack of parking
The staff were very helpful in the dining room especially and the reception The bedroom was far too hot and we needed 2 fans There were no drawers for clothes in the bedroom Little extras e.g. shower caps, hand creams not provided umbrella unavailable when going out to the car in inclement weather no nibbles given with the cocktails!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

3ra cama del acompañante pésima, imposible dormir

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Me ha gustado
Cons: Que cuando se pida una tercera cama esta sea algo más que un catre y un colchón de 5 cm
Location: Muy buena ubicación, a minutos de autopistas, y cerca de Stirling que merece la pena visitarla.
Muy buen hotel, el servicio muy bueno, el personal eficiente. La habitación un poco estrecha y con la tercera cama (¿?) extendida no quedaba lugar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Nice hotel , very nice area

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Very nice hotel , friendly staff , no problems with room , good breakfast , close to local pubs for dinner in town , close to train station , good pool and spa, very nice area to visit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great jumping off point for the highlands

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great hotel, but there was no air conditioning. Not a problem if it is cool outside...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Beautiful grand hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The hotel is very dramatic on top of a hill on the edge of the centre. Hilton quality beds. Slept like a baby. The staff were wonderful. Friendly without being overly intrusive. They matched a web rate when we decided to extend our stay which I obviously appreciated. Pool, sauna, steam room very enjoyable after a long day of driving. We used it the facilities every day of our stay. The breakfast buffet felt a bit like a tourist class hotel in Spain (I hate fried eggs warmed under heat lamps) but it actually was quite nice if you looked past the presentation. We had a truly wonderful evening meal there. The lamb rump was the best I've had in years. The weather was rather dire on the first night but the cocktail bar was lively and well attended. You can have a good time without having to venture into town. Even though the hotel was very busy you could nip off and find a quiet corner in the various lounges as well. Really a wonderful 3 nights there and I would happily visit again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel with pool

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Excellent welcome cookies.
Cons: Not much local information.
Location: Stirling Castle is not far and well worth visiting.
Baby-friendly family room was a good size and provided almost everything you'd expect for a hotel at this rate; there was a gap where the fridge would have been but we guess that could have been filled if we'd really wanted. The welcome cookies were particularly impressive. Nice swimming pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not really geared up for pets.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
As part of our stay we had breakfast and evening meal included but as we had our dog and there was no outside sitting area we had to eat on our own while one of us waited in the room with the dog, which is not ideal. Gym has enough equipment to have a good workout but was filthy, with no atmosphere as no music and cardiotheatre was not working. Rest of the hotel was lovely.