Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet comfortable great views

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Staff attentive and food excellent- plenty of quiet spots to sit in hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good relaxing short break.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: We liked the bed, very comfy, the food and the pool.
Cons: Cleanliness in the corridors. Range of beers in the bar.
Location: Near Stirling where the castle is well worth a visit, as is Doune castle. The 'Kelpies' sculpture and the Falkirk wheel are interesting.
We found the generally good. The room and bed were very comfortable but the corridors were not very clean and could have benefited more careful cleaning. Food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast and the pool/gym facilities were of a high standard. The bar was ok, but would be improved by stocking some of the many local craft ales.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Lovely hotel for a wedding

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel was well kept, including the room and public area. Really nice place to stay and staff wee all great.
Cons: The room we stayed in was very hot, making it uncomfortable.
Location: We were there to attend a wedding, however there is lots to do locally. Close proximity to Stirling and trossachs with lots to do.
We attended a wedding at the Hydro, and the hotel, staff and food were all excellent. It was a lovely setting, nice building and staff were great. Food at dinner, and then breakfast was all nice. The only down point was the our family room was extremly hot, making for an uncomfortable night for all four of us, despite turning the radiator off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millport Isle of Cumbrae

Dunblane Hydro in November

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Everything, leisure suite, reception, staff, food, all terrific
Cons: Nothing that I could see.
Location: We did not spend much time in Dunblane, although we have done in the past. It is a very interesting town with along history and worth exploring.
Wonderful reception on arrival, clean and comfortable room. Leisure facility first class. Kailyard restaurant was lovely, staff very helpful and pleasant, and food out of this world. Marvellous experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Good restaurant worth a visit. Nick Nairn branded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stop off on our journey North

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, spa, and restaurant
Cons: 1. Better range of beer in the bar. Scotland now has some excellent brewers and hotels need to keep up with this trend, even if it is bottled.
Very imposing hotel, with a very comfortable bedroom. Enjoyed the Spa and the excellent restaurant. Sent on our way with a top notch full Scottish breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Food ordinary. Both steaks over cooked and sent back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The double tree is a lovely hotel, however, it will be paying a little more for a more comfortable bed. The double room bed is ok, but memory foam mattress is not for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Nice hotel near Stirling for shopping

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The rooms, leisure facilities and food
Location: Not too far from Stirling shopping centre
We went to this hotel for my sisters 60th birthday and we had a wonderful time. We went to the shops at Stirling then had a lovely time in the pool with sauna and steam room. The evening meal was terrific and then we had a few drinks in the lounge. A great time was had by all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed by this stay. On entrance we had to point out to a member of staff that there was dog poo on the carpet, freshly deposited (presumably a guests dog). Quickly picked up by a member of staff. I booked 4 'double deluxe' rooms. Our room was mediocre to say the least- the carpet was stained, room difficult to heat and it generally looked like it needed updating. The other rooms in our group had issues too including curtains that didn't fit and one room which was too small for double occupancy. The hotel could not change their room as they were at capacity but did give a complimentary drink voucher by way of apology. At breakfast I had to ask staff for new cutlery as mine was clearly used - again just an oversight and staff did correct this. I was advised that the breakfast buffet was labelled as to any allergens - it wasn't and there was a constant queue at the coffee machines that would only work in short bursts. At check out my husband and I were billed twice for breakfast - fortunately we noticed and it was corrected, my father in law however was single occupancy and we have since discovered he was billed for 2 breakfasts. On a plus - the bar and communal areas are nice. We had a Jacuzzi bath in our room and the spa pool was nice too. Chef created a lovely gluten free alternative to the buffet and all food seemed to be of good standard. Lovely old building - but overall not that impressed.