Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Holiday

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Excellent stay very friendly helpful nothing was to much trouble anything u needed I would go back for sure spa was cool breakfast good room good bed a bit hard for us
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a castle - Just a hotel with a spa

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful, and breakfast was a lovely variation of hot and cold items.
Cons: A nice hotel, with nice grounds, but think they should NOT be advertising as a castle hotel.
Location: The hotel is close to a small town, with very few amenities ~ basically a pub and a gas station. For us Dublin might have been a better option.
Although the staff were wonderful, and the breakfast excellent ~ this is just a very nice spa hotel. We were looking for the castle experience, which is NOT this hotel. If your plan is to be a tourist and see Dublin ~ stay closer to the city. We were also disappointed to find that even use of the pool attracted a hefty fee. Apparently, due to it being an aromatherapy pool..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel , nice and quiet.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
It was an ideal location. Local bus transport was great for us to go into Dublin for the day. Very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A very decent spa hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Enjoyed the stay, good facilities, nice food & pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel & facilities

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Great facilities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Village lovely with shops & restaurants
Wonderful night away in a lovely hotel with great breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from dublin ireland

Nice hotel within walking distance to village

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The comfortable rooms. Location to village. Complimentary newspaper.
Cons: Hotel food. Help with luggage to room. Free access into spa pool.
Location: Lovely restaurant called 'The mint Leaf ' in the village. Excellent food.
Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Meal included for one night at hotel restaurant. Food was below average for a four star hotel. Duck & lentil starter was served in a jar !! Tasteless and very small portion as was the portion size of the main course (fish), also, a club sandwich I ordered in the bar for lunch was awful ( very fatty bacon, black salad leaves ) although I wasn't charged when I complained to the staff it's not good enough to serve substandard food. Apart from the issues with the food we had a nice stay and staff are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A lovely and accommodating hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious and very neat. The staff were also very helpful.
Cons: Nothing at the moment that I can think of during our 3 nights stay. All basic provisions were provided.
Location: Please refer to comment in experience. For those whp want to use public transport apart from taxi, this may may be an issue.
Although we spent most of our time outside the hotel because of the marriage functions we were in Dublin for, however we do not have any complaint about our stay and the service provided by the hotel. The staff were very good to say the least and the breakfast was very good. The room was very spacious and the bathroom very good. We cannot fault the room and the provisions especially the coffee and tea. There were other people who for the wedding who stayed at the hotel and there were very good feedback from them too. I cannot comment on the location as I got a hired car from the airport and I had no problems moving around but someone not driving the location and public transport may be an issue. This is the only observed draw back. The hotel is well located in the village and very spacious car park. This hotel is good for relaxation and if I am in Dublin again, I will have no hesitation staying at this wonderful hotel. The staff were very helpful and every request was promptly addressed and were also helpful with information.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Stayed at this hotel a number of times and have always found the staff welcoming and the rooms warm and comfortable. Would recommend without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for Quiet Break

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and good food
Cons: Need to put lights into the sauna as its a health and safety trip hazard.
Location: Outskirts of Dublin with good shopping centre near by
Check in was not good due to poor communication from Expedia team not informing hotel of our booking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Disappointing experience

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: More staff on reception, not just 1 or 2. Attention to customer support when the hotel is not delivering an expected level of service.
Our last night in Ireland & having read other reviews I requested in advance a free room upgrade preferably on the 2nd floor. Planning to arrive early, book in and use the spa, we booked in at just after 3pm. Reception advised we had a free room upgrade, but our room was not as yet ready. Without any offer of perhaps complimentary tea/coffee or soft drink we were advised to wait in the bar area. After some 45 minutes of no comeback and with watching others book in without wait, I queued again at check in and asked to see the manager. I advised the situation and concerns and was quickly given a room. I asked what the manager could do in support and was given complementary access to the spa (usually €20), which I thought was included in the rather expensive room rate. On entry to our room, (on the ground floor, not 2nd) whilst very large, the room had 1 double and 1 single bed, so was obviously a family room. The double was 2 single beds together, along with 2 single mattresses, so there was a pronounced join which did not provide appropriate comfort. Heading to the spa, whilst small, was functional. Of concern was that the outside jacuzzi was not lit at all and rather a hazard as the dark descended. The hotel dressing gowns had holes in the armpits and belt straps broken. Overnight, sleep was interrupted by various wedding party groups and at breakfast we had to ask for tea, as well as toast, as staff appeared not interested in serving. Overall, just glad to leave.