Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet and relaxing stay

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Music on the Saturday night, very entertaining
Cons: Bank holiday weekend, could've had music on the Sunday evening
Location: Small town, walking distance but little to do. Hotel has a spa so don't need to move from the hotel.
Quiet, relaxing environment, away from the madness of the city
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Elisabet Diaz, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa recently, and for taking the time to review us on Expedia. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Dunboyne Castle Hotel again very soon. Warmest regards, Elisabet Diaz, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel, not much of a castle

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We stayed at several castles on our visit with Dunboyne being our last stop. It was the least like a castle and more like a nice hotel. We were tired and not far from the airport so we were happy though. They gave us and our teenagers connecting spacious clean modern rooms. The kids had nice beds but our mattress was old and hard. That was our only complaint and it wasn't significant enough to bother the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even gave me tips on how early to get to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawthorne, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The peaceful atmosphere.
Cons: The breakfast selection
Location: The Mint Leaf for breakfast was very good and Slevins for dinner.
Nice hotel and staff, In a very quite area. About 20 min from Dublin center. The breakfast food was the only thing we disliked,
5 out of 5
by David

Short stay

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Over night stay for a business trip. Hotel was easy to find and with ample parking. Everything from check in to check out was seamless and effective. Room large and comfy. Spa clean and nice after a days work. Staff all friendly. Beers nice and cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amy walsh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
It's a great hotel with great staff, spa looks great but the gym needs improving
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
I found the hotel in a lovely location. However the hotel was cold, other guests felt the same. Asked the bar staff to check the heating and was told the manager said it was not working. Had to wait 30mins to be seated for breakfast. I wore my coat to the breakfast room and again at dinner in the bar. The highlight for me was definitely the spa and pool area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
lovely hotel. very basic room no water supplied for kettle in room & 2 single beds provided when a double bed was requested. hotel staff where very polite & helpful food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly and welcoming

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The food and the spa
We spent two nights here at the end of a week in Ireland.