Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When in Duncan stay here

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Clean modern rooms. Very quiet even though close to highway. Friendly staff. Free wifi. Enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Not bad for the price if you don't eat there

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The price was reasonable.
Cons: It could have a bigger bathroom with more counter space.
Location: There is a Tim Horton's next door if you don't want to pay for their breakfast.
It was conveniently located for the business we needed to do in Duncan. I would rate it as mediocre overall. It's not a pretty hotel, gets all the noise from the busy highway, and has a terrible restaurant. The bathroom was quite small and the bed not particularly comfortable. The wide-screen TV made everything look distorted. However, considering the options, the price was reasonable and we really were only there to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Courtenay BC, Canada

Not fancy-- but comfortable and clean

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: As above and Location Location , location
Cons: Kurig coffee maker didnt wotk
Location: Lots to see and do in Duncan BC-- check the local tourism web site
1500 characters to describe my experience at Duncan Best Western ????? REALLY LOL! we are not talking about the Pan Pacific here! The title of the review says it all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Hotel close to amenities

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Room was standard and clean. Bathroom could benefit from an update, but was clean. There was life music at the hotel restaurant the night we were there, and so we were a bit worried about noise. We were able to hear a bit of noise from the life music, and people walking up and down the hallways for a bit, but it all quoted down by 10pm, and we had a great sleep after all!
4 out of 5
by Dean from Campbell River

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very quiet room. A little warm in room and could not adjust temp.
4 out of 5
by Evelyn from Kingston

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice, friendly service, pleasant get away while visiting friends in the Duncan area... Thanks!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a bad experience

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
We were in town for a Christmas party, and booked the room last minute through Hotels.com. The regular rooms were booked so we splurged on a nicer room. For $170 I had some expectations, one of which, would be that we would get a queen bed as advertised. When we arrived, we were quickly given our key, and when we got to the room, we found it to be spacious, but in the corner was a folded out Murphy bed, not the queen I paid for. It was late at night, so I wasn't going to make a fuss at that point. The rooms condition was definitely sub standard, the building is wearing it's age. When we left, the girl attending the desk didn't even ask about our stay, just said "you paid electronically so are good to go". I called the manager the next day, and rather than simply apologize or offer to make our next stay better, she simply berated me for booking online and said I would have gotten a better deal if I called them, which wasn't the point. I don't mind spending money on a room, but the service and experience should match the price. My wife and I don't get to enjoy many nights alone without the kids, and I won't be risking another date night on the Cowichan Valley Inn
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pender Island

Micro vacation

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Central location for our planned micro vacation and they take dogs.
Cons: Expedia!!!! Once again Expedia failed to pass along to the hotel that we would be bringing our dog.
Location: Day trips to Duncan, Lake Cowichan, Ladysmith and Cowichan Bay
We stayed there two nights as part of a desire to be tourists in our own back garden so to speak.
3 out of 5
by Matthew from North island

Not worth it

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Don't use the websites just call the hotel. I booked online and the walk-in that checked in before me got their room for 30 bucks less. Plus the "discounted" price was the hotels normal fee. As for the hotel it was very clean and the beds were comfortable but it is still right next to the highway. Also requested a late check out and was still called to be rushed out so room service could clean the room. Over all will not be going back and is definately not worth the amount I paid.
5 out of 5
by Leo from Vanderhoof b.c

Rose and Leo review

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Service is excellent,front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Housekeeping friendly and services very good. Restaurant waitress very friendly.