Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashcroft bc

GOOD VALUE AND CLEAN

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Well located between Nanaimo and Victoria. Staff were great and efficient. Restaurant and pub were a cut above usual hotel offerings for this price range. No elevator to second floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Bonnie Park (General Manager), Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us after your stay! We are happy that you were satisfied with the staff here. So sorry that we could not make it more comfortable with an Elevator. We understand how this can take away from your convenience and therefore, we have plans to start renovations to add an elevator to our property this year! The plans have been started since about two years ago and finally we are really excited to be able to introduce a new 3rd floor and an entirely upgraded hotel roughly by 2018 February. We hope you will come back to stay with us once we have completed construction. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon! If you have any concerns or questions for any future stays, please feel free to contact me at the hotel at any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Returning guest

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Location: Good location for travelling in the Duncan area, or for points north and south on the Island.
This is my third stay at the inn. Clean, comfortable and has easy access for getting about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Isaac, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you very much for staying with us and for the great review! We are very happy and glad that your stay with us was satisfactory. We would be more than willing and happy to serve you here further at the Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, Thank you for choosing the Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn and we look forward to seeing you in the future. -Isaac- Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

next to a tim horton's

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Used hotel while I had cataract surgery and will use hotel again next month..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Isaac, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very happy that your stay with us was satisfactory. We would be more than happy to serve you at the Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn again. Thank you for choosing Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn. Please come again -Isaac- Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a quick stopover

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Really clean hotel, good location. A little loud at night (thin walls) but perfect for a quick stay. Really well cleaned and great pub onsite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Bonnie P., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for considering Best Western CVI for your short stay here in Duncan. We are pleased that you were comfortable with the rooms and the cleanliness. Apologies for the noise that might have disturbed you during your stay. We are working on an expansion and renovation to help create a more comfortable space for our returning and future guests. We really appreciate your feed back and we will pass on the compliments to the pub as well! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
1 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
I use essential oils in my body so the hotel falsely accused me of smoking In my room (with my 5y old and 9y old). I was so insulted. I was also charged $100 damage dep. I would never recommend this hotel. It was old, not friendly or helpful. Very dissapppointing. The Ramada down the road was amazing helpful and kind! I would recommend there
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We hope you received our deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay and the $100 charge. We have refunded the money in full and am very sorry about the stress that you received during your trip. We hope you had a better trip afterwards and allow us to help you consider a better stay with us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Replace staff that interact with public/clients
Location: Get your information some other way!
We arrived late. The hotel said it was full. They explained that they had declined the Expedia reservation when made. No one contacted me. This was all made worse having stayed up all night due to flight issues and having to find accommodations unexpectedly on the morning of my Mother's funeral. Not impressed with Hotel or Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Bonnie Park, Hotel Management
Hello Peter, We share our condolences for your mother and we are so sorry that you had such a challenging time finding a room. We are extremely sorry for the lack of communication that caused such an unusual and unfortunate mishap and we will be working on looking into proper communications when a situation like this happens. An apology probably will not be enough for a situation like this that has already happened, but we want you to know that because of the time you took to write us feedback, we are going to take all efforts to make sure this never happens again in the future. We want to thank you for writing to us and providing for us this kind of feedback, and again thank you for having chosen us as a hotel when you first booked. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you and your family in the near future.
5 out of 5
by Evelyn

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect for a short stay near Duncan
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating and comment. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Have a wonderful week! Bonnie Park Property Manager Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winter stay

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Very comfortable room, very close to hospital. Great food in pub, very friendly and helpful staff throughout the facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Last minute decision, turned into a wonderful mini vacation and no charge for room service!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels