Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sidney B.C.

Old and cheap amenities . Everything outdated.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Wasn' t too noisy, but overflowing ashtrays disgusting outside doors.
Cons: Everything. Decent shower curtain needed, Skinniest toilet paper, thin towels . Used shampoo samples.no kleenex's. Decor. Outlet plugs overloaded and in view.
Location: On highway with restaurant nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

basic accomodations

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: convenience and cleanliness
Location: convenient if visiting Chemainus to go to the theatre or see the murals.
Located off the highway, so a bit of traffic noise. This is a basic, no frills, inexpensive roadside motel that is a bit dated. However, for the price you pay, it is Ok for one night if passing through. It has recently been renovated so is newly painted and has some new fixtures in the bathroom. Very clean and staff are friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disorganized.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
We made a reservation with expedia, upon arrival motel staff couldn't find our reservation. Every other guest that was staying ( 6 rooms of people staying there for a wedding) experienced the same issue. They had booked directly with the motel but staff still couldn't find a reservation for them either. There was never any staff available and check in and out was an issue. I would not stay again due to the staffing issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again ... 😕

Posted Sep 2, 2016
If you are in a pinch it will do ... confused staff... Room basic ... At least there was no highway noise ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

convenient location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Clean, with considerate staff.
Cons: Ice machine for this size of facility would be nice.
Location: As in the main body, Victoria and Nanaimo are close by with plentiful of things to do.
Its advantage is reasonable place in a distance not too far from Victoria. Located just off the highway, it provides easy access both to Victoria and Nanaimo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great basic motel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
This is a great basic motel. When I choose a basic motel, I care about two things: cleanliness and a good night's sleep. This motel delivered both very well. The room was very clean and the bathroom spotless. The mattress was very good, and I slept soundly. The air conditioning worked well. I will not hesitate to book this motel when I'm next in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

very poor sound-proof

Posted Jul 3, 2016
bad experience with this hotel. very difficult to find. Even though 80% rooms are empty, the front desk staff still arranges late check-in guests to our up-stair room. we were woke up by very loud sound of steps and taking shower at 12:48am. The noise lasts for 2 hours and we can't fall back to sleep. when we reflected to the front desk and suggest them arrange late check-in guests to ground floor rooms, the staff's attitude is so bad and said he could do nothing about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC.

Older hotel, needs some work but is "stay-able"

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Steve at the desk is a great guy. Helpful and pleasant. In the suite, great shower, Enjoyed the coffee. Awesome WIFI.
Cons: More towels, better toiletries, time to upgrade the bedding, room smelled like smoke (this will be resolve apparently).
Location: Not too much. There's a family restaurant, a CO-OP (drug store sort of). That's about it. Drive for anything else.
The hotel is pretty well off the beaten path outside the town of Chemainus BC which, in itself is a small community. Wasn't expecting the Ritz so expectations were not high.. Was going to interview a breeder and just needed a place to stay for a night before heading back to Vancouver.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Clean..nice new bathroom...
Cons: better quality TP...
Location: The little town of chemainus very close..
This Motel is very lose to chemainus...the restraunt he Haidaway next door great food..the rooms and property very clean and well keep..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandpoint Idaho

Pleasantly surprised.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: As a widow traveling alone I felt safe and they went out of their way to be helpful.
Cons: A clock in the room would be helpful as the wake-up call from the office didn't ring through and in warmer weather an air conditioner would be needed.
Location: The hotel is easy to reach and the restaurant next door is good, but the local town of Chemanius is past it's prime. Go for outdoor activity.
I was a bit concerned about staying in a non-franchised hotel, but this family run hotel is a nice place to stay. The rooms are clean and pleasant although, all of their renovations are not yet completed. My room had no air conditioner or a clock, but it wasn't necessary. They do not provide breakfast or a guest computer, but there is a great restaurant next door and the son of the owner was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about helping me set up a future reservation with his personal computer.