Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quesnel, BC

Great Location, right on the beach!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Great Stay! Awesome location, great people. Awesome quaint little bay with lots to offer couples, families, and business professionals.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by Maddy , EPC
Thank you Erin, we really appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 26, 2015
The hotel is very dated, but very comfortable. Beautiful location, good pool and hot tub. Parking is very difficult as stalls are small and rarely available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port McNeill

nice room overlooking cow bay

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: comfy bed, nice pool, great waterfront location for view of marina and short stroll to shops and parks, nice pool
Cons: more dishes available in kitchenette, ensuring key cards programmed for correct length of stay
Location: neat little shops and cafes, museum, etc nearby, lovely view from our room overlooking the marina
friendly staff, nice clean room, comfortable beds. would have been nice to have more cutlery, etc available as only enough for 2 and had 3 staying in the room, but this was a minor point, as staff were able to provide extra upon request. found ourselves locked out a couple of times from the parkade, as room card key seemed to have been programmed for one night when we were booked for longer, but overall a pretty minor inconvenience. enjoyed the pool and hot tub, and especially the great location for checking out cowichan bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by Maddy , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We typically only have our kitchens stocked with two sets of dishes, but always have more to supply to our guests when requested. It sounds like you had a great time in the area, and we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Arrived by boat and this Hotel has decent rooms. They tried to charge us for moorage, yet drive in customers have no parking fee. We complained and they waived the fee. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by Maddy , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Charging for moorage is a new policy we have implemented recently, our apologies that you were not made aware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, Oregon

We Love This Place!!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Cons: Some sweeping and general cleaning of tile around the pool is needed and look forward to green lawns once the water conditions improve.
Location: Our grandson enjoyed the Raptor Center, the play James and the Giant Peach in Chemanius, and the Red Balloon Toy Store. He also swam every day.
We are always happy here and love the location and the special "Zen" of the surroundings. The room was pretty much the same as the last few visits. We try to come every year. I was hoping the Room renovations would have been completed by now but I did book through a different web site and I guess we got the rooms that weren't done yet. The staff is as always very helpful and the check-in and out was quick and efficient. The rooms were cleaned every day and I really appreciated the complementary wine and chocolates at check-in. They are in the process of installing a new security system so there was some construction happening. The newly finished restaurant was quite nice and we had a fine breakfast the day we were leaving. After talking with the Manager we are planning on trying out the evening fare on our next visit. We were traveling this time with our Grandson and I have to say the pool area was not as clean as I would have liked. Overall we continue to believe this is our favorite destination and will return next Spring or Summer if not sooner! The views and location make up for any of our small concerns!!
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Maddy , EPC
Thank you Nancy for your kind review. It was so great to see you again this year! We are always working on renovations and upgrades and I am sure next year you will see more changes. We look forward to seeing you next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

The pictures might be from 1 remodeled room in the

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The rooms we've got had nothing to do with the pictures, except for the view. The rooms were old and didn't lock from the inside, one of the toilets didn't flush. The only positive thing was that they were clean. We ended up leaving as soon as we woke up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seaside or.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Nice views, quiet room. nice having a full bed room.
Cons: The room is dated, old couch and other furnishings.
Location: I asked the harbor master to recommend restaurants, he said the pub and the black cod were both good. he was exactly right.
It is a quiet area, but just a short drive to a lot of attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops

Super comfortable, great views!

Posted Aug 2, 2015
We loved the location, the view at any time of the day or evening, really comfy beds, and the cool breeze through sliding glass doors In both the living room and bedroom ( what a great in a modern day hotel room!). And what a treat to have a full kitchen! We'll make better use of that feature next time for sure. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location on the bay

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The location, the view, the restaurant
Cons: The towels could be softer. The mattresses SHOULD be more comfortable.
Location: You can see Duncan (Totems) and Maple Bay, Salt Spring Island and lots of forests around bays.
The hotel is clean and the restaurant is excellent. The location is optimal. The staff is ok, somewhat disinterested but not outright unfriendly. The room was definitely minimalist. We had all we needed and not an ounce more. Similar to a monastery room. No decor at all, not one picture or item to beautify the room. Very austere. No TLC whatsoever. The fantastic setting made up for most of the disappointment and the wonderful restaurant helped too. For the price we paid, we expected a different feel of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely, lovely, lovely.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: View, amenities and atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing
Location: You can whale watch, scuba dive ( or learn to), sail, shop and dine.
Lovely hotel, great staff, great facility. And the community of Cowichan Bay is a delight! Have the sea food chowder at the pub beside the hotel. It's the best! Unique shops, great waterfront . We will return.