Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

We loved it.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
As an older couple, this hotel was fantastic. It was close to everything, the restaurant on site was great, and our view was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River BC

Location was great. Close to quaint shops.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: My husband is disabled and the short walk to everything worked for him.
Cons: A room balcony.
Location: Walking the wharf...visiting the shops....the pub food was great.
The staff we're awesome...very polite and knowledgeable. Loved the view ......but Our own room balcony would have been even better. Very comfortable room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view of Cowichan Bay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Staff was friendly and even called shortly after we were in the room to be sure that everything was OK. Cowichan Bay is quiet and a great place to relax and unwind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Great view. You are right on the ocean. There is a dock to walk out on and a patio. Very large rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 世田谷区

眺望のとても美しいホテルです。

Posted Sep 10, 2016
カウチンベイに近接する眺望のとても素晴らしいホテルです。クイーンサイズツインの部屋でしたが、ゆったりとしており、清潔で、且つ閑静で4泊しましたが、くつろげました。 朝食もコンチネンタルが無料で付いてましたし、パーキングも無料。ジムも充実してます。このエリアでは総合点で一番。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdon

Comfortable suites. Great Views. Fabulous Staff.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The views, the spacious suites and the staff.
Cons: A little upgrading of the kitchens
Location: Oceanfront is directly on Lake Cowichan. There are many restaurants and cafes closeby.
My Father-in-Law was in hopital in nearby Duncan when we stayed at the Oceanfront. He passed whilst we were there and Kathy (on reception) took the trouble to be very kind, caring and compassionate at that difficult time. We stayed in Suite No. 305, which was spacious and comfortable, but the decor was a little tired. However, Kathy had carefully explained all the options available and we were happy to accept the suite. We only had breakfast, which was delicious and the service was generally excellent. We will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Hotel facilities are ok, room cleanliness and comfort is good, staff is not friendly at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Best choice for location

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Test the pool chemicals regularly - was cloudy until the last day of my family's stay
Location: wine-tasting, whale-watching, fishing, great restaurants
Hotel is older and parts of it are tired. However, there are very few choices in Cowichan Bay. The staff is excellent (shout-out to Cathy). Pros: each room has a lovely view. The Wi-Fi is excellent. Cons: not all rooms have been renovated (I stayed her twice in two weeks - in three different rooms). You may be in a room with older TV, furniture etc. Kitchens are not well-equipped. Each room had different dishes. Note to hotel - you're located in wine-country. Supply wine-glasses.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Staff Awesome View!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The View
We had a bit of a hiccup booking our room the staff was awesome to deal with the room was BIG and had an ideal view. close to all the markets ill for sure stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location, a bit overpriced

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The staff, the view and the beds.
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: Great location for exploring Cowichan village, the Masthead restaurant which is just down the street was so delicious. Go to the Raptors in Duncan.
The hotel is located in a good location to explore Cowichan village. The staff was great and check in and check out were smooth and quick, we were also given coupons for free continental breakfast so that was a nice bonus. It was yogurt with granola, fresh fruit and a croissant along with tea or coffee. The restaurant has a very nice view looking over the water so I would definitely go there for breakfast. We booked a standard room and those are not fully renovated so if you are looking for a nicer cleaner room book an executive suite. The shower head in the bathroom was quite low so it made having a shower a bit difficult but the hotel has said they will be finishing upgrading the rest of their rooms soon so hopefully they will redo the bathrooms. The beds seem to be new and were comfortable so sleeping was enjoyable. Overall I would stay here again but book an executive suite for a newer room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by Rob G. Manager, Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Kay, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are in the midst of a long term renovation schedule that, over the next few months and years, will fully renovate all of our hotel rooms and public areas. Bathrooms are definitely still on the 'to do' list! We hope that you will stay with us again and experience the results of our next renovation phase! Thank you,