Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 23, 2017
I was only staying the night for a 2 day course. Stayed in the suite which was overly spacious with a full functioning kitchen. It was perfect! Staff was incredible. My room was booked but under a different name (my fault) they could not find my reservation so a comodated me and atvthe Expedia price. They went above and beyond.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are happy to hear you had a great stay in one of our spacious suites! We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff and are glad they were able to go above and beyond to get you checked in and honour the Expedia rate. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town!
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay and giving us a 4 out of 5 star rating, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
by Bill

Nice place

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
quiet. comfortable, well located
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Bill, Thank for you for submitting feedback from your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you found the Hotel well located and your room to be quiet and comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
2 out of 5
by Danilo

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
I was double charge with my credit card
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Danilo, We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review. I do apologize for the confusion which resulted in your card being charged twice. As we discussed over the phone a duplicate reservation was made resulting in one of your reservations being a 'no show' and as policy this was charged a one night stay. Following your check-out and learning that the second reservation was not needed we did process a full refund for the second room. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
3 out of 5
by Ishbel

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you Ishbel for providing feedback from your recent stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay and giving us a 4 out of 5 star rating, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Cons: Need renovations, especially the bathroom.
Staffs are friendly. Although the room is clean, the bathroom is in need of a renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are happy to hear you found the staff friendly and room clean. We have recently completed many renovations and updates around the property and to the guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathrooms and will keep this in mind for our next renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sherwood park ab

Smelly

Posted Aug 24, 2017
It had a musty smell when we came in that never went away. It felt damp in there. Everything was very dated. We actually stayed there for 2 nights, one being right after our wedding. It is not luxury If that is what you're looking for. The shower is difficult to use but there is a note about it around the corner no where near where it needs to be. The baths jets did not work and the plug did not work either. However, we did not feel unsafe and it was not the worst thing I've ever seen. The room we stayed in was very large as well. So if push came to shove we would stay again but not by choice ahaha ! Hope this helps !
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Laura, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. Our goal is to always provide our guests with the best hospitality service and it is with regret to know about the disappointments you had with your room accommodations, especially following such a special day. I am surprised to hear that you felt your room was dated as we have recently completed extensive renovations on all of our guestrooms which included new carpets, paint, mattresses, pillows, all linens, towels, lamps, artwork, tub surrounds, shower heads, rods and curtains, occasional chairs, plus more! I do apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding the suite that you booked as we are aware the bath jets do not work. We advertise and describe this room to have an oversized soaker tub to ensure there is no disappointment following check-in. We appreciate your feedback and have discussed the maintenance concerns with our maintenance department. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we can make sure your next stay is beyond expectation.
3 out of 5
by Harold

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Catherine K, Hotel Management
Thank you Harold for providing feedback from your recent stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!