Ratings based on 1,068 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Comfortable hotel but too noisy

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location and comfortable beds
Cons: I'm not sure how you improve being able to hear everything next door
Location: Octagen and good restaurants nearby, nice and central
Overall ok, good location and comfortable beds but found the hotel too noisy. Could hear loud traffic very easily and also people arriving late into hotel and someone throwing up in the morning. Walls a paper thin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Very tidy. Close to amenities

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice and quiet. Very comfortable. Lovely friendly and helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review Bonny, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Kate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great place to stay in Dunedin, close to everything, room service available for lazy nights and the friendly, accommodating staff are always available to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Randhir, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback & letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petone

Central, very nice room

Posted Aug 19, 2017
One night adding more words to try and get stupid Expedia to accept review bla bla bla
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Paul, appreciate it...and the laugh. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cromwell

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 17, 2017
After a long day all I wanted was a relaxing night in and that's exactly what we got. The best part about the room was the bed. So comfortable 4 big fluffy pillows just what I like plus lots of room and big soft covers, slept like a baby. Would recommend a high level too the sunrise view was amazing. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant but the menu looked fabulous and wide ranged. Will be coming back again. Would have liked to be told more about where facilities were on check in to make it more easier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Randhir , Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your room & bedding. We will remind the reception team to provide more information about the facilities upon arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton, nz

Great location! Walking distance to shops/Restaura

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The location was handy to the city center( shops/restaurants) and lovely staff ❤️
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent review, we're glad you found our location so handy and our staff so lovely, we hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards Kate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very handy, tidy

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Wotif
A great place to stay while in Dunedin, the Princes St side rooms can be a bit noisy even with the double glazing due to boy racers but this isn't an issue on week nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, great to hear you found the Southern Cross a great place to stay and look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
good hotel to stay in when on business - clean, comfy bed and friendly , helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent review we really appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellingto NZ

Friendly reception

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I arrived early and the concierge was very thoughtful and allowed me to check in early without hassle
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Duty Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feed back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to Octagon city center

Posted May 29, 2017
Cons: Hotel facilities The ceiling is very high so the heating inside the room is inadequate. However, when I requested for an extra Heater they provided it
Location: good location but a bit far away from the university
The hotel staff was lovely, helped out a lot. The room was quite spacious and the ceiling was very high. The heater turned of at 24degrees (?) so the room got cold during the night. So, I requested an extra heater and they were happy to provide it (though I had to ask twice because i think they forgot).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and I am glad you had a good stay. Sorry you had issues with the heating - I will look into this with our Maintenance team. With best wishes Adrian