Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Quick stop Dunedin

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Decor
Location: Good food in walking distance. Good parking on the street
Nice tidy hotel. Basic but well located and very nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thames nz

Over night stay

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Close to city central, lovely and spacious
Cons: Nothing to report
Short one night stay but will definitely use again. Comfort and convenience combined to suit us well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Hotel was a good price for what it was.Plug needed to be fixed in our room,getting old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Wains

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: it was a short walk to restaurants cafes and a few other attractions
Cons: everything
Location: Speights Brewery and Cadbury World also train station and Chinese gardens all within walking distance as well as cafe bars and restaurants.
There was no parking at the hotel, the parking was a block over and an extra $15 per night or you could park on the street with ticket parking. the shower had the last guests hair stuck on the wall. The noise from the street came up through the window. you could hear the guests in the rooms and hallway and when they walked around the fire escape outside the bedroom window vibrated. Breakfast was not worth the $20 each unless you thought the long blonde hair stuck through the bowl of tinned fruit was a bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to CBD

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: It's a bit unique - quite neat due to the funny things like missing floor numbers, but from the other Street entrance there they are.
Cons: A dinning room on site for evening meals - they dont have to be posh - just available.
Location: I attended a 150 year celebration at the local Masonic Centre which is within walking distance.
An old hotel that has obviously undergone numerous makeovers. The room was clean The bathroom clean The beds comfy No meals available but there is charge back available at local Pizza / Pasts resturant - thats OK Breakfast available on site - nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel close to cbd

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Very tired in need of a renovation had a terrible smell in stairwell area not sure what it was .But staff pleasant and room itself comfortable but very small although plenty of room for one person
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location, easy breakfast, bad room

Posted Aug 20, 2017
This was a nice hotel, unfortunately our room had no natural light, the which made it really claustrophobic after a couple of nights. Otherwise, it was clean and adequate. The hotel itself is really pretty and I'm sure there are much nicer rooms than we had. We had included breakfast which was good and convenient when you need to get up early. And the location is fantastic, just 10 mins walk from city centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Good location easy walking distance from city centre. Room was quite cold in the middle of winter as it only had a oil heater. Shower pressure not very good. Walls very thin and could easily hear the neighbours next to me talking which was really annoying. The lifts were also very annoying. Good price though - you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timaru

Short stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017
We found the hotel comfortable, warm and clean!!! The staff were amazing and told us straight away we could park on the street for free overnight. The Sky didn't work in any of our rooms though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

No Problems

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Microwave would be handy. Heating was from an oil heater which left on kept the room perfect. not sure if a heat pump would be better economically ?
Location: 10-15min walk to Cadbury World, 10min walk to Octagon. 6 Min drive to Edgar sports center. Restaurants & takeaways on the streets surrounding.
Easy access to main center as its just a 10 min walk away. Was clean and warm. Was able to book a car park around the corner through the hotel which was a 4min walk away. Staff are super super friendly and accommodating which was awesome. The room had sky movie & sport, coffee/tea/fridge/jug. The only thing it didnt have was a microwave and utensils which would of been handy as we stayed 1 week. Didn't try the cafe downstairs or room service. No wardrobe in the room but a place to hang jackets/pants. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.