Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted May 15, 2017
Excellent breakfast .. nice and quiet ..perfect for me
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a B&b, not a hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Lastminute
We enjoyed it in the end but arriving in the dark was not good - there was poorly lit entrance up a narrow concrete pathway,then hand written instruction to ring bell for 5 seconds, door answered by a German accented guy with a bob in his hair - first impressions were very weird for a so-called 'hotel' reception. But room nice, breakfast good and main staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly environment

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Character/ owner/ staff
Nice friendly environment.great location and close to city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great b&b

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, great staff, beautiful old house, very nice continental breakfast.
Location: Away from there bustle of town. Close to Dunedin's beautiful botanical gardens. A few restaurants within walking distance.
Such a nice experience! Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful old houses.
4 out of 5
by Nancy

Eclectic and friendly

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this area of NZ. Lots of activities and nature. Near the fabulous botanical garden
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Island NZ

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: I had a very comfortable room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad for breakfast.
Location: Not far from the centre of the city and the university. The Dunedin Gardens were very close nearby and are a lovely place to walk or to have a picnic
I was welcomed by a friendly staff member who said he would check if my room was ready. I was a bit early but that was OK. I was shown up to my room. The hotel was clean and comfortable. I found the stairs somewhat steep but over all my experience was very positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on a hillside

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: I like the most in this hotel is its decoration and friendly nature of the hotel staff.
I stayed at Arden street House for 2 days. It is situated on a hillside. I feel very comfortable there as it felt like home. It was beautifully decorated. The hotel staff is also very nice. they also have two cats. I also got a chance to cuddle them. The offered a continental breakfast in the morning, it was also good. Overall, I liked to stay there and would recommend to everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Lovely staff. Nice breakfast
Needs to get rid of Girl George. Its scary. Needs thicker drapes to keep out the light. Drape need to have backing. Otherwise OK. Could do with a good tidy up. Declutter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Quirky

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Cons: Less clutter, although we realise that this is a matter of personal taste.
Location: Close to the beautiful and historic Dunedin train station.
Hosts were friendly and room was clean. However, it was not what we expected from the photos. Ours seemed to be the only room with a private bathroom, which was small and tired, but clean. The bed was far too soft. Property was easy to find, and reasonably well located. Breakfast was good—cereal, toast, juice, yoghurt and fresh fruit salad etc—but the breakfast room was too cluttered with ornaments, although it did have great views. Be prepared for the mannequin at the front door and a rather eccentric décor within.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great guesthouse.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Wotif
The service here was awesome and the view from the breakfast table is wonderful. The breakfast was tasty too.