Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Nice hotel in a quiet location

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location to central Dunedin. Everything in city is walkable.
Stayed here many times before. Always a pleasure as the staff and restaurant are excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great Location and a very helpful Staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, warm room, balcony, size of room, cleanliness, free parking, staff member Tom
Cons: No comment.
Location: Close to Dunedin's Octagon, Railway station, about 15 minutes walk to the University. Walkable distance to most of Dunedin's main attractions.
We stayed 2 nights whilst in Dunedin. Room was very clean, comfortable and warm with balcony looking over Dunedin. Added free parking was a plus. Convenient location. One of the staff member - Tom (British guy?) was on duty on morning of 7 Aug and he was a life saver!! We were leaving early morning and due to the frosty condition we had heaps of issues with our rental car and Tom went above and beyond to help us out (3 ladies with barely any knowledge of cars) and we were able to leave to our next destination! Thanks Tom!! Also very friendly and helpful housekeeper (sorry, can't remember her name).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to CBD

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Stayed here several times and always come back because of location and service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Run down rooms with paper thin walls - kept waking up to the next doors alarm!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable price close to town

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Price was good and it was close to town
Cons: Nothing
Good parking, clean hotel, close to town at a reasonable price
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean and warm hotel room, handy to the city

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: walking distance to the city centre and great price
Location: Fab location so handy to the city centre
Nice clean and warm hotel through out, in waling distance to the city centre
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always Great

Posted Jun 13, 2016
The Kingsgate Hotel in Dunedin has not changed in year, but they always do the basics well - I am never disappointed. Great value for money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town centre

Posted May 28, 2016
Was a great night out for a 21st. Our room was just for us to sleep in and it was fine. Beds were comfortable, great TV, great view, easy parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queenstown, New Zealand

Great little hotel

Posted May 22, 2016
In a perfect location, just behind Thd Octogon, a lovely place to be based while in Dunedin. Staff were super friendly and room was very clean and had all basic amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good locality close to shops.

Posted May 18, 2016 on Wotif
A good place to stay my only complaint was the 3 nights we stayed there we had no hot water in the evenings. We phoned reception but it was not addressed.