Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Must do

Posted Nov 24, 2016
What a thrill staying on the castle grounds. Great breakfast too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely lodge

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The place is quiet. However quite irritated that if u need to check in or out it has to be done in the castle. Hopefully it will be easier. The breakfast was great with variety. There is also a complementary visit to the castle which is a plus. The view of the room was amazing and room are good.
5 out of 5
by Brenda Jean from Perth Western Australia

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed the castle, the gardens are a credit to the owners and the views were the icing on the cake
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffs, UK

Interesting historical site with great views

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Stayed in 2 separate rooms. The stables is basic with shared showers/toilets. But the lodge was much better. Views are stunning from the lodge and both rooms were comfortable. Dinner was excellent in the house and breakfast in the stables is also very well done. Patrick, Elizabeth, Libby and Robert did a great job of looking after us, so thank you to you all.
3 out of 5
by Sara from Silver Spring, Maryland

Great view but eat or buy food before you arrive

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Breathtaking views of the Dunedin Harbor. Kind staff. Comfortable beds and huge bathtub. Water pressure was low but they were working on it. Biggest point - the hotel is a good 20-25 minute drive from the nearest restaurant or grocery store, on twisty, narrow roads that would be dangerous at night. There is nothing around it. So eat or buy food before you arrive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Nice bathroom facility, however the bathtub is a bit dirty
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Wonderful location with Amazing Views!

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Great rooms, views and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing could be improved - was just great!
Location: Great Quiet Grandeur location
Location is lovely with views over the harbour inlet. Would recommend "Kate's Room" spacious with panorama views and balcony to enjoy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The history of the cancel was captured well on the audio tour. So well maintained and looked after. A great piece of NZ History. We enjoyed the Saturday night dinner - divine food with great company held on a long banquet table.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kok-Hong from Singapore

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
The themed room was comfortable and delightful. The bed was a huge cart/wagon frame. Beautiful seaview. The night drive to the accommodation is rather challenging for a city dweller but we greatly enjoyed the castle grounds and the dramatic sunrise. Might even have caught the Aurora if it had been an Aurora active night. Breakfast at the stable was excellent. Unfortunately we missed out dining at the elegant and beautiful cafe as we didn't explore it till the last day of our stay.
5 out of 5
by John from Adelaide and my partner from Christchurch

5 star quaility

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Larnach Castle and recomend it to anyone