Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient and great place to stay in Dunedin.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Convenience, clean and comfortable
Location: Convenient to museums, train station, testaurants, etc.
Our room had a great view. Room was clean, comfortable and very roomy. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, CO

Over-rated / Over-priced

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Good location very close to city center. Large modern room.
Cons: Room not ready at published check-in time. Waited a further 90 minutes. Poor service in restaurant (breakfast).
Location: Good location only a couple of blocks from city center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great Central Location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Nice room and everything you need. Great location in the centre of town. Lots of food and shops in walking distance
Cons: No aircon in the rooms, no milk in the room and shampoo/conditioner etc
Location: Central Dunedin - all activites are close by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The beds and pillows!
Cons: The room was far too hot - even opened the window after turning off the heating system.
Very tidy room, excellent beds and pillows. Location is wonderful as only a short walk to Octagon and lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Timaru

Nice hotel easy to locate.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: We have stayed here before and we liked the expected and received standard of everything.
The hotel was within easy walking distance of a business meeting we were attending at the Art Gallery. This was good since we experienced really cold weather with a biting wind and were glad to quickly get back to our warm and pleasant room. The only slightly unsettling thing was that my cotton mix night-wear re--acted to the bed linen and created quite a bit of static electricity! My husband sleeping in his all cotton attire had none of the weird display. There was no dis-comfort, only slight bemusement as to where the lights were shooting out from.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Street noise

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: location. amenities.
Cons: sound proofing from the street. Double or bigger beds
Location: shops, bars, cafes, railway station, rugby stadium, 2x breweries with tap rooms and cafes. Busses. Esay shot to beaches. Walk to Moana pools, gardens
A nice hotel, handy to everything. Good staff. Unfortunately the street noise until 03:00am was terrible. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if the only option was a street facing room. I have stayed here before in a harbour side room which was great. Another thing was the 2 beds which were really just king single rather than doubles. They weren't comfortable for 2 people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from auckland

Central with all the amenities

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Big room, great central location and free wireless
Location: 2 minute walk and your in the Octagon, so lots of restaurants and bars
Very nice hotel, 1970's looking from the outside but very appointed inside. Big rooms, free internet and central. Friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bundaberg

Nice and comfy

Posted Jul 5, 2016
A nice hotel that is central and close to the Octagon restaurants. The room itself was good, a little old fashioned, but nice and comfy enough. The friendly and warm staff were also a highlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Great hotel close to the centre. Modern room and very comfy bed! Staff really pleasant and yummy breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Handy to all Dunedin necessities

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Close to the Octagon, plenty of space in our room. Clean and tidy.
Cons: New heating system!
Location: Walked to lunch and dinner each day, movies and mini-mart close by and We walked to the Cadbury factory also.
Nice hotel - very handy to all amenities including a mini-mart on the same block which was handy when I came down with a migraine in the Middle of the night. Room is spacious and clean. Only negative was only heating system is a small wall heater so it took a long time for the room to warm up. Staff were great except we tried to check in early (1pm) after an early morning flight and I had a tired 8 year old with me and reception wouldn't even check if my room was ready, let alone oblige. They told us to wait on the couch in the lobby so I was unimpressed with the lack of customer service. Room service was pretty poor - expensive for what you get and very small portion sizes.