Ratings based on 1,070 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southland

Great stay

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: free parking
Location: great, movie theatre, museums, Chinese garden, restaurant and bars, shopping all with in walking distance as well as the casino.
A good relaxing room, close to entertainment and shops (just a short walk).. Convenient to casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Hotel review

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: staff, comfortable beds
Cons: a little tired could do with a refresh
Location: restaurants and town centre handy, along with the lovel architechure including the lovely railways startion and markets
Lovely location, lovely hotel excellent staff - rooms just a little tired but clean and comfortable. Temperature in the room was perfect too, in the past we have had stuff hotels and cold hotesl but this was just right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your recent review, we really appreciate your feedback and were delighted that you found the comfort of the rom perfect and the staff excellent, that is great to hear. We hope to host you again in the future. Warm regards Kate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Staff vs Comfort

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Customer service was fantastic!
Cons: Quality of the beds and pillows
Staff were fantastic customer service was amazing, the bed was hard as rock but outside of that we couldn't complain and by far service made up for disappointment with the bed. The young lady working late Tuesday night when we checked in provided such a fantastic service and will go along way in the industry with her knowledge and customer service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, we were glad to hear how fantastic you found our staff and their customer service and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Island

Conference stay

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Good bed
Cons: bit of a rabbit warren to get to rooms
Location: most shuttles / taxis etc service hotel
EAsy walk to town square / conference areas and mostly covered. Appears to be an older building but tastefully redecorated
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your conference and time in Dunedin. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Room to blow your socks off

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Ended up with room 671. Like large apartment. Home away from home
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed the room and had a relaxing stay whilst in Dunedin. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Centrally located - quality and comfortable

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The central location
The staff were very knowledgable helpful, the room was excellent with a very comfortable bed - will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your recent feedback, so glad to hear how helpful you found the staff during your stay and that you had a comfortable sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Cross next time. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from pMelbourne

Central and quiet

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Central and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to city, railway station and Cadbury factory.
Have stayed here on two previous occasions and always an enjoyable stay. Walking distance to city and local attractions. Friendly staff, good parking and nice restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent review, we really appreciate your kind feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to host you again soon, warm regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pauanui beach

Great place to stay

Posted May 12, 2017
Everything was great. Will try for a larger room next time. Very good value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and hope to host you again soon. Kind regards Kate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Great hotel in the city. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Renee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Manager that was on was amazing! We had booked the wrong accomodation and he completely turned around what could have been a bad situation to a very pleasurable one! He sorted everything for us very quickly and even offered to call ahead to our next Destination to make sure our accomodation was correct ! Amazing customer service !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Renee, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your recent stay here at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. I am delighted that the Duty Manager was amazing and I have passed on your feedback to him. We hope to see you in Dunedin again soon. Kind regards Renee