Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lovely hotel in a central location.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: It's location and cleanliness
Cons: Just a city centre map in the room.
Location: Easy walk to the Speights brewery, shops, restaurants, Cadbury factory and train station. A slightly longer walk to the Otago museum and university.
Excellent location which meant we could walk all around the town. Very clean with polite and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy walk to city centre.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Staff were polite and helpful. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. Would recommend to anybody.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Good sized room - shower adequate yet needed attention - average breakfast -
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The best thing about Wains Hotel was the Staff. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and efficient.We were revisiting the hotel after as we spent our wedding night here more than 40 years ago. We felt welcomed immediately by the lovely Receptionist who gave informative, helpful advice about parking etc. The cleaning staff we met in the morning were friendly and taking pride in their work. Very comfortable bed. I loved the old style lift with its wooden panelling. We were on the 5th floor with great views and woke to sunshine and pigeons cooing. Wonderful! Good old Dunners. We stayed only one night but would love to come again and will definitely recommend Wains. Good value for money. .
Cons: Husband unable to watch TV in bed. but that is not a major issue at all. Would love to see information about the Hotel's past displayed and more made of features such as the lift.
Location: Easy to find. Central location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: .
Good service room was good was hard being next to the elevator maybe more insulation would help
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: City centre. And a strip club just opposite this hotel...
Room was clean and all necessary facilities are provided. Just a bit disappointed with the bathroom, the shower faucet was a bit rusty and needs to be replaced. Room was a bit small though but ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay of Plenty

Well situated

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Excellent
Room was as expected for star level. Bathroom was tired and needed upgrade. Shower over bath leaked on to floor. This looked liked it had happpened before given the sealant around the bath. When brought to staff's attention was seen to quickly. Feedback to staff was it was better but not fixed completely. Location was brilliant, staff were helpful. We used street parking. Hotel offer secure parking I think at $15 (daily) did not use so you would need to confirm this. Hallway carpet tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Dunedin A Busy Bustling City

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The price
Cons: Had a noisy toilet
Location: Located on one of the busy streets in Dunedin lots of traffic but could hear no noise from room. Casino just a short walk and food there was divine.
Would highly recommend Wains Hotel. At first was concerned as it was "hotel" and the car parking back of the back packers hostel. but when you walk in greeted by a happy face and a brilliant renovated foyer your mouth drops. The room was great 2 very large beds Quality for a great price Thank You
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

for a short stay. excellent

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: clean. good facilities.
Cons: tea/coffee not available in room shower/bath...very slippery. fit shower mat that doesn't move. (safety feature)
Location: good location. not to noisy
good amenities. Very clean. good bathroom. however lacking facilities to make tea / coffee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Fair location but room a bit tired

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Nice enough for a boys weekend but not really up to standard. Small room, dirty carpet and a shower that leaked all over the floor.