Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

No Problems

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Microwave would be handy. Heating was from an oil heater which left on kept the room perfect. not sure if a heat pump would be better economically ?
Location: 10-15min walk to Cadbury World, 10min walk to Octagon. 6 Min drive to Edgar sports center. Restaurants & takeaways on the streets surrounding.
Easy access to main center as its just a 10 min walk away. Was clean and warm. Was able to book a car park around the corner through the hotel which was a 4min walk away. Staff are super super friendly and accommodating which was awesome. The room had sky movie & sport, coffee/tea/fridge/jug. The only thing it didnt have was a microwave and utensils which would of been handy as we stayed 1 week. Didn't try the cafe downstairs or room service. No wardrobe in the room but a place to hang jackets/pants. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Invercargill

A bit like Faulty Towers

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The location and room was fine
Cons: See my above comments
Location: Location of the hotel was very handy being close to the city centre was very helpful for the purpose of our stay
Whilst we found the location of the hotel really good we were disappointed with the services we received. The lady that was on duty came across as abrupt and from the water machine (for hot water) leaking water on the breakfast table, the lift not working, room service not available because the duty staff member "wasnt feeling well"and didnt think she should handle food to the one plate of cold nachos with cold meat and beans that we did manage to score ( horrible) there wasnt too much to get excited about. On a positive note the room was nice and the beds were very comfortable. Both my friend and myself slept very well. Also one staff member ( a man ) that we dealt with before we left was very pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in good location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Hotel in close proximity to city area and main attractions so greay location. Hotel staff not very friendly. Reception mostly unattended and no bell to ring either. You just have to wait or shout for somebody to come to your assistance. Room was good. A good size but putting 2 double beds made it smaller however there was still enough room to move about. No ice in the ice tray which was a bit annoying, but we managed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central QLD

Great old hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Nice clean old hotel. Rooms are large and comfortable. Dont get a room near the old lift as it is very noisy.Nice breakfast. Parking is difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Comfy room great location Friendly staff very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bangalore

Nice experience

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We had an amazing experience... Present in heart of the city.... It is easy and we could communicate to all places... Staff are empathetic to guests and cater tonall their needs... Buffet is pricy though...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

QUAINT HOTEL

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: It is centrally located and has a rather olde worlde charm to it
Cons: Parking is inadequate & questions (both previously phoned and at reception) seemed to be rather dismissed. Don't want to lug my suitcases up a hill
Location: Most of Dunedin's attractions are nearby as are some good cafes and restaurants
We had a small two-bed room.. I found the room quite claustrophobic with a small high window (with no view) and an inside metal ladder right next to my bed that I presume is part of an evacuation plan. Hoping I'd never have to use it I thought of my age and getting up the ladder and getting out the window and down the other side! Bathroom was adequate and had a nice bath but no fan/heater in the bathroom. Would have liked more pillows apart from the one spare that was jammed into a (broken) drawer. Cushions on the bed looked a bit lonely. The black valance around one bed was very dirty, with white dribbly stains and big dirty marks. Parking outside the hotel says Reserved for Tour buses only but we parked our vehicle there anyway until we registered & could move it to an (expensive) pay 'n display down the hill. Although there was a staff member speaking to a couple of guests in the vestibule he did not make a move to hold the rather heavy door open for me to bring in my luggage. In fact, the male guest was the one to do so. It was raining and cold at this point and help to bring in my cases would have been appreciated. The elevator is old-style and in good working order but it has to have the two doors pulled short in order to operate. TV in the room had really poor reception - whether this was to do with impending snow I don't know. And why or why only 4 milk pods in fridge and $3 for bottled water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location was a mere couple or so blocks from the Octagon. Staff were friendly, and delicious teas and hot chocolate were provided in the room.
Location: A great location with many shops, old buildings, i-Site, museums and restaurants.
I was allowed an early check-in time, staff were lovely and the room, although small, was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Excellent value for money, friendly staff and close to city centre. Will stay here again when in Dunedin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Great stay for grad weekend

Posted May 14, 2017
Staff were super friendly and helpful, allowing us to drop our bags and check in before 2pm. The hotel has lots of character and was a great location nice and close to some good cafes and restaurants. Would defiantly stay here again.