Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Even though the hotel is a bit older, it was clean and the room was very comfortable. The view of the lake was outstanding.
4 out of 5
by Anne

Convenient and beautiful scenery.

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was visiting my father and it was a good price. The food was excellent at dinner and very reasonable. I would stay at this hotel again if I got this rate again.
4 out of 5
by Maribeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Maintenance needed

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and tried to make everything right.
Cons: Maintain the property.
Location: Beautiful site and nice facility.
The advertising blurb was inaccurate. It said there was wireless internet. It was for the most part unusable. Slow and would stop for a minute or more before it would come back on. The staff changed our room after a few days to try to improve things. The new room the internet was no better and was out completely for over 16 hours on the last day of our stay. It is very difficult to go to McDonalds in order to use the internet. The room they moved us to the TV went out daily and staff had to come and reset the receiver. The ad also said "pools". The outside pool was closed as expected but there was no other pool. The guest laundry comprised of only a coin op washer with no dryer. The staff was excellent and the rooms clean. The heat made so much noise that it had to be turned off in order to hear the TV. The TV might have been better if the closed caption had not been disabled. A great deal of maintenance would greatly improve the hotel. This evaluation could not be filled our until we returned home because the internet was so bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. We value your patronage and certainly want to know if you are dissatisfied in any way. I am very sorry you were disappointed on this occasion and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I will share your experience with upper management to make any necessary improvements. I am happy to hear the staff was very accommodating, we pride ourselves on our staff and their ability to satisfy guest needs. I am confident that your next stay at our hotel will be a pleasant one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, NC

Time for a facelift

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: . This is a hard question to answer, as the only thing that was worth mentioning is the staff. They were helpful and kind.
Cons: Our stay was okay. The food was okay, we needed extra coffee in the room and the deck had a hard time finding any. We have stayed here many times and they just aren't keeping it up. Most likely won't stay again. It seems like they build a nice hotel and did nothing to keep it up to date.
Location: This hotel is located on the Lake Erie and the outdoor views are wonderful, near the local dock where you can sit and enjoy nature in it's glory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Customer Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I am very sorry you did not have a perfect stay on your recent visit. I have shared your comments with upper management to ensure any necessary improvements are made. Feedback from our guests provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Rooms are a little dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We stayed here during a particularly busy weekend in Dunkirk/Fredonia. We were ahead of schedule the day we checked in and called to see if we could arrive early. Wednesday were respectfully told that would not be possible but by 3pm there would be a room. Despite calling and having a reservation, our room was not ready when we arrived at 5pm. When we did get a room it was obviously not cleaned, as if housekeeping rushed to have the room available for us. The drawers had remaining clothes from previous guests and the garbage was not taken out. Otherwise, you can expect a typical budget hotel experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Was showed on site that they had an indoor pool, ( They don't) .That's faulse advertising to the guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunkirk, NY

Good hotel, excellent food in restaurant.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The service is excellent, room is average, and the attached restaurant, The Windjammer, is excellent. Quality and choice of food, and service is wonderful. I would go back to the restaurant anytime.