Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Whitehall Inn - A mix of good and bad

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful the three days we stayed. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel, being July was warm inside, especially the eating area. The lounge and restaurant was closed while we were there. We stayed in their largest room, the Presidential Suite. The bedroom area stayed nice and cool. The sitting area with the pull-out sofa-sleeper stayed very warm and uncomfortable. Each area had it's own unit to cool and even when they added another unit in that area it was still too warm. Also the sofa-sleeper mattress was too thin to sleep on. The other guest staying in our room had to sleep on the sofa without pulling out the bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: New owner/management. Reopen dining room and bar. New bed. Fix plumbing and elevator.
Location: Good access to I-90.
Having enjoyed our stay 25 years ago at this once fine inn, it was very disappointing, yes sad, to see how far it has declined. Back then we enjoyed excellent dinners and breakfasts in the fine dining room. The cozy bar was a great place for drinks and conversation. Now both the dining room and bar are closed. Breakfast buffet is in a room too dark to see the food item. The food was not hot. The mattress was soft and saggy. The faucet in the sink next to the bed leaked. The elevator stops a few inches below the floor before evening up. We had to have the keys recoded before we could get back in the room after breakfast. I was informed by a local that the hotel has gone downhill under absentee ownership. One can only hope that it will be sold to someone who will bring this historic inn back to the level guests have enjoyed for most of the years since it opened in 1830.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and dog friendly.

Posted May 28, 2017
Would definitely stay again. Very comfortable. Excellent wifi. Bed was very comfortable after a long drive. Attendant helped us on food delivery. All was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Lovely old Victorian

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I stayed here about 20 years ago and it has the same Victorian charm now, the elevator wasn't working and the dining room and bar were closed. The room was lovely with A/C added, WiFi, flat TV and fully functional bath and shower. I'm sure older folks like me would love this place if they get the elevator working. The front porch with tables and chairs is beautiful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo, ny

The conditions of the hotel were disappointing

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The night desk clerk was very nice! She was very sweet! She understood and after talking to her, I truly believed I was going to get a refund.....
Cons: Lots of repairs around the Inn need to be made. Hanging so many 'Out of Order' signs isn't acceptable. Lack of lunch, dinner, bar options...and on..
I reserved room #322 on Saturday, April 8-9 through Expedia. Hours after checking in on the 8th, my husband and I checked out due to a list of complaints. My complaints were: 1. Expedia stated there was a lunch and dinner restaurant. There wasn't. The Squire's Table is closed for the winter. 2. There was no sound on the TV in my room. I asked to be moved to a comparable room, there weren't any available. the night clerk gave us an option of a less desirable room. Smaller bed, very small bathroom. We asked the night clerk to just exchange the TV, she said she didn't think was allowed to move TVs and Maintenance won't be available till Sunday afternoon. 3. The elevator was out of service. Our room was on the third floor. 4. The public bathroom on our 3rd floor was out of service. 5. Expedia stated The White Inn served a full breakfast. Its not. It's not, its a cold, complimentary breakfast. 6. The shower curtain in my bathroom is trimmed in black mold.....my last straw. Monday April 10th, I called Expedia first for my refund, they informed me The White Inn already charged them for my stay (even though the night desk clerk assured me I just had to go through Expedia and get a refund). The Innkeeper will not return or take calls from Expedia or me and states they have a "no refund" policy. I asked the desk clerk is there any other management I can speak to and she said "No" and stated the owner said we can't give refunds. Sad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very nice, but the elevator was out of order, the vending machine was out of order and the coffee machine in the breakfast area was out of order.
1 out of 5
by Mark

Disappointing Stay at the White Inn

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
This stay at the White House Inn was very disappointing. We have stayed there before and were completely satisfied. We will probably not stay again. The room had no heat. When calling the front desk, we were told a fuse must have blew. In five minutes, the heat was restored. Of course, this happened again and the room was freezing and there was no hope. They suggested moving us to another room. We checked it out and that was even colder. We asked if we could move to another room and they said no room was available. We find this very hard to believe as the parking lot, lobby, and hallways were empty. They brought up a space heater. I truly believe that this was one of our worst hotel stays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
We didn't end up staying. Might be better during summer season. We were there off season
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but would not stay again

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great for a visit to SUNY Fredonia. The hotel is charming, but the furniture is old (the chair had stains on it and was rickety) and is a bit dirty. The shower curtain had mold on it. There is only one person working the front desk, breakfast, and cleaning. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, even for continental. Half of the items were not put out and we had to ask for milk, yogurt, napkins, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grove city pa

this was a outstanding hotel in it's day.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: heating unit worked well after checking out, I thought I had left my cel phone there. The desk girl was very nice and immediately went to check.
Cons: price breakfast
Location: wineries
elevator out of order lounge and restaurant closed on Saturday afternoon and evening breakfast was cold items and coffee was nasty. no juice or bananas more like an old morgue than bustling hotel tv only got a few stations