Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley, NY

Perfect place to stay while visiting SUNY Fredonia

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: It isn't a "chain" motel/hotel, it is a historic building which was once a home, and it's right in the village of Fredonia.
Cons: The staff could've been slightly more friendly, but they were polite.
Perfectly smooth visit, great room, love the historic building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Antique chic, stayed single night. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
The overnight was pleasing and close to the Fredonia College campus. It was our first time visit. We look forward to future visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic, yester-year feel

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Great location, aesthetically pleasing if you like the classic, old-school look, plenty of parking, wonderful staff, convenient restaurant/bar.
Cons: My bathtub drained far too slowly. The sound proofing was poor, such that I could easily hear a conversation in the adjacent room.
Location: Great location, close proximity to downtown bars/restaurants, convenient proximity to SUNY Fredonia.
I enjoyed my stay, with just a couple disappointments. The front desk staff tried fixing my bathtub drain with Draino, but I suspect it was actually a mechanical issue, and unfortunately there was no maintenance staff on Sunday. Standing in shower runoff isn't the end of the world, but disappointing when you're paying for comfort and convenience. I was surprised by how well I could hear conversation in the adjacent room. Thankfully, I had my earplugs with me. Be sure to bring some if you hope to get uninterrupted sleep. Other than that, I really loved the overall vibe and great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freeville, Ny

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Very historic feel but needs a little TLC and upgrades. Room was comfortable and the Inn was situated right in town which is a plus to walk to restaurants and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2016
TV didn't work, so I called the front desk. Brittany said she would take a look at it. I was leaving to meet some friends, so I wasn't going to be there. I returned to the room and noticed that the tv remote was moved and so was the cord. Still nothing. I was too exhausted to deal with it at this point, so I let the AM front desk woman know the situation. Keonna was assertive and helpful. She contacted the owner after determining a breaker was tripped, to see about a partial refund. Nope, I was able to get 10% off the next stay. Along with the tv issue, there were several blown out lightbulbs in the room (some probably on same blown circuit), a horrible continental breakfast, and moldy grout in the shower. I would not give them my business again. I'll go to one of the chain hotels.
2 out of 5
by Carolyn from Hudson Valley

Near campus; minimalist breakfast

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Inn served its purpose as a simple accommodation overnight. While a handsome place, it did not feel welcoming, from the front desk staff, to the guests throughout the inn partying noisily until 3 a.m., to the very limited breakfast items at 7 a.m. In winter, anticipate keeping room heater on overnight (with attendant fan noise) or ask for extra blankets. There were several good food spots in close walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse

A very warm experience

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the way the workers at the desk went to pains to help out. I absolutely love the historic and unique charm of the place.
Cons: My one and only one suggestion: My room needed some kind of desk. I'm a writer, and there was no place to write comfortably.
Location: It's in downtown Fredonia, a college town, near the villages shops, restaurants, bakeries, coffee shops and museum. Very pleasant ambiance.
Tremendous charm on a bitter winter's night. Roaring fire, old wooden bar and dining room, graceful and spacious room for a very reasonable price. The staff was friendly and attentive. It was a very warm, very comforting place to spend a night while a winter storm was raging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

College stay

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
I prefer this hotel because it is not a chain and has personality. And for that I would stay there again. It is definitely older, the bed sagged, the furniture was scratched and the TV was small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Like visiting grandma

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Architecture is nice, the bar in the lobby is ok too
Cons: total make over would be suggested
Location: Very small little town, nothing much to do
Room was very spacious but a little run down. It was clean but a bit smelly (old)