Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Like visiting grandma

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Architecture is nice, the bar in the lobby is ok too
Cons: total make over would be suggested
Location: Very small little town, nothing much to do
Room was very spacious but a little run down. It was clean but a bit smelly (old)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Conflicted About Inn

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The room was very cozy and the bed was wonderful.
Cons: The Inn smells musty and moldy, make sure the fixtures and lamps are fixed, with clean lampshades, make sure the elevator is working.
Location: There are some lovely restaurants, Fredonia college is nearby and downtown Fredonia often has festivals in the park in the summer.
I have stayed at the White Inn on several occasions and usually was very pleased. This visit was very disappointing and I think it was due to the fact that I was the only guest staying (for an entire week) at the Inn. When I arrived, there had been a snow storm and the hotel was not shoveled well for me to get my luggage up the ramp and to the front door. When I checked in, I noticed that the elevator was not working and since there was not a secondary elevator, the front desk clerk carried my very large suitcase up three flights of stairs to my room. I was given a very nice corner room with a lovely view of downtown Fredonia, but the light bulb in the bathroom was broken off in the socket and another lamp in the bedroom was falling apart. The next morning when I walked down the 3 flight of stairs to eat breakfast, I was told that since I was the only guest in the entire Inn that they suspended breakfast services. This meant that I had to go to another location for breakfast. I ended up staying for 5 days and 4 nights because the location was wonderful and the room was very comfortable. I also had a lovely dinner on one of the nights there. This Inn could be so much more with consistent maintenence and upkeep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Nice room, nice price

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: The lady at the desk was nice. Check in was very smooth. The room was spacious and clean. I liked the décor.
Cons: Their restaurant was overpriced for fair food. Really bad service--friendly, but slow, inaccurate and inattentive. Continental breakfast awful.
Location: Go see Lily Dale and Chautaqua Institute if you go in the summer. Check out a restaurant called The Brick Room.
Room was comfortable. King size bed was nice. Like the décor. Nice big bathroom. Heating unit was noisy. continental breakfast is not good. Dining at their restaurant was not a great experience and it was grossly overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: I like the look of an older type mansion. Bar very comfortable and staff friendly.
Cons: Wicker furniture in room just ok not a fan of wicker unless outside
Location: within walking distance of eating places near college was nice
parents weekend at fredonia is why we visited. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Very nice, comfortable Inn experience

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Proximity to SUNY Fredonia
Cons: The mattress is way too firm.
Location: Near everything
The staff was very nice, although it was surprising that the person at the front desk couldn't give me directions to SUNY Fredonia, which ended up just around the corner. The restaurant looked very nice, although I didn't eat there; I had heard it was pretty expensive. There was a decent continental breakfast available. My one complaint about my stay was although the room was well appointed, the mattress on the bed was SO hard, that even if I had weighed 500 lbs (which I am far from), I wouldn't have made a dent in it....way, way, too hard of a mattress. Other than that a very pleasant stay, and great parking, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zito

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Our room was excellent. I loved the size and space as well as the wallpaper.
Location: There are some restaurants with in walking distance.
We loved our stay at the White Inn. Our room was beautiful and clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a small continental breakfast each morning that was nice. We would absolutely stay there again. It is also walking distance to some nice restaurants as well if you want a change of scenery for dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice on the outside but inside needs a lot of work

Posted Nov 2, 2015
The hotel was in poor condition and was extremely noisy and uncomfortable. The staff was not helpful when we brought to their attention that there was a loud kitchen exhaust fan rumbling on throughout the night. Considering the relatively high rate I was paying for each night, it would have been nice to at least have a quiet clean and comfortable room. Disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice inn in a quaint college town

Posted Oct 20, 2015
We had a nice suite on the second floor. It was comfortable. The only problem we had was noise off and on all night from the room above us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McConnellsville, NY

What a nice surprise in a jungle of chain hotels.

Posted Oct 18, 2015
My daughter and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was within easy reach of all the locations we need to go to. The staff was wonderful, the coffee was already ready for me at 6:30 a.m., the room was nicely done with plenty of elbow room.