Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2018
Lovely hotel in gorgeous little village. Little malfunction with bath tap but staff came and helped out. Special mention for Kirsten who was so helpful throughout the evening. Great breakfast and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely refurbished hotel

Posted May 2, 2018
Quite a transformation since my last stay over 10 years ago. Rooms are very clean & comfortable & finished to a high standard. Food very good & staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent hotel in quaint country town

Posted May 2, 2018
Pros: cosy atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff
Cons: I'd like a little more shelf space in the bathroom, but that's just me
Location: Quaint, typical old English town with beautiful old buildings.
This was our 3 day stop over after our flight from Australia. We found the staff to be very helpful, breakfast (which was included in our tariff) was more than ample and there was a good variety of produce. The staff were very obliging and friendly. The Swan has a great atmosphere and was obviously liked by visitors and locals alike as it was always very busy. We could not fault our rooms for cleanliness and fit out although I would have liked a little more shelf space in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good value for money hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: It was cosy, very comfortable bed, good shower & good breakfast. Parking on site very convenient, as was the restaurant downstairs.
Location: Audley Hall House
The hotel was all we wanted, couldn’t fault it, but for light sleepers, beware! The hotel is directly under the flight path of Stansted Airport. During our stay there was 2 an hour landings during the night, which apparently are cargo flights, so for those who sleep less soundly, chose another hotel or take ear plugs...for those not worried by aircraft noise, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

warm cosy stay near stansted airport

Posted Mar 4, 2018 on Hotels
booked it last minute because of flight cancellations and was very happy with hotel/service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thaxted Swan Inn 1-3-18

Posted Mar 4, 2018 on Hotels
Couldn't fault my stay, very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Stay at The Swan Hotel, Thaxted

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Fantastic experience at The Swan! Beautiful accommodation, great value high quality food, and BRILLIANT service! This Hotel is a hidden gem. Can’t recommend it highly enough - it’s one of those places, where you’d like to come back again and again! Well done to all the Team at The Swan!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2018 on Hotels
What a lovely hotel. Beautiful renovations. Lovely clean room. Comfortable bed. Spotless bathroom. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Tasty breakfast. Very good value stay. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place and good staff

Posted Jan 18, 2018 on Hotels
The Swan is a very nice hotel, the rooms have obviously been refurbished very recently to a very high standard. The room was clean and tidy with various modern comforts like USB ports in convenient areas to charge your devices. We eat a meal with a large group of family at the hotel and were impressed with the food. The breakfast was very nice, with a wide choice of full English, fruit, yogurt, cereal, fish etc etc... We would certainly stay here again.During our arrival, we were informed that there was a water leak in the ceiling of our room. We were given the choice to wait for an emergency plumber who can hopefully fix it, or they would start looking for alternative accommodation for us. We decided to take a look at the issue, then opted to wait for the plumber as the leak didn't look too bad. After all, the leak could not be fixed, but it didn't cause a problem to us in the room. The staff handled this very well, keeping us informed and providing the night free of charge due to the issue. Thanks for a lovely stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nofolk

Post Xmas break

Posted Jan 2, 2018
We arrived to a beautifully refurbished hotel and were checked in very efficiently. The bar and restaurant service later that eve was slow and the waiter had to apologise that over half the items on the menu were not available. Although the breakfast and the service was excellent on both mornings. Our room was at the back and in a quieter location as we had requested and was lovely. Everything for a comfortable stay, good quality towels, toiletries and tea and coffee facilities. The new decor was very tastefully done and although the room was quite small it did not feel at all cramped for the two of us. The room was beautifully clean and lovely quality towels and bed linen. During the day and eve you could very clearly hear the planes overhead from Stansted but it's sort of what you expect when your just a few miles away. Overall a lovely hotel with friendly staff, although perhaps too few for the volume of customers. We had a great price , a lovely break and would definitely stay again Rhankyou.