Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good value for money hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: It was cosy, very comfortable bed, good shower & good breakfast. Parking on site very convenient, as was the restaurant downstairs.
Location: Audley Hall House
The hotel was all we wanted, couldn’t fault it, but for light sleepers, beware! The hotel is directly under the flight path of Stansted Airport. During our stay there was 2 an hour landings during the night, which apparently are cargo flights, so for those who sleep less soundly, chose another hotel or take ear plugs...for those not worried by aircraft noise, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Stay at The Swan Hotel, Thaxted

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Fantastic experience at The Swan! Beautiful accommodation, great value high quality food, and BRILLIANT service! This Hotel is a hidden gem. Can’t recommend it highly enough - it’s one of those places, where you’d like to come back again and again! Well done to all the Team at The Swan!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place and good staff

Posted Jan 18, 2018 on Hotels
The Swan is a very nice hotel, the rooms have obviously been refurbished very recently to a very high standard. The room was clean and tidy with various modern comforts like USB ports in convenient areas to charge your devices. We eat a meal with a large group of family at the hotel and were impressed with the food. The breakfast was very nice, with a wide choice of full English, fruit, yogurt, cereal, fish etc etc... We would certainly stay here again.During our arrival, we were informed that there was a water leak in the ceiling of our room. We were given the choice to wait for an emergency plumber who can hopefully fix it, or they would start looking for alternative accommodation for us. We decided to take a look at the issue, then opted to wait for the plumber as the leak didn't look too bad. After all, the leak could not be fixed, but it didn't cause a problem to us in the room. The staff handled this very well, keeping us informed and providing the night free of charge due to the issue. Thanks for a lovely stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nofolk

Post Xmas break

Posted Jan 2, 2018
We arrived to a beautifully refurbished hotel and were checked in very efficiently. The bar and restaurant service later that eve was slow and the waiter had to apologise that over half the items on the menu were not available. Although the breakfast and the service was excellent on both mornings. Our room was at the back and in a quieter location as we had requested and was lovely. Everything for a comfortable stay, good quality towels, toiletries and tea and coffee facilities. The new decor was very tastefully done and although the room was quite small it did not feel at all cramped for the two of us. The room was beautifully clean and lovely quality towels and bed linen. During the day and eve you could very clearly hear the planes overhead from Stansted but it's sort of what you expect when your just a few miles away. Overall a lovely hotel with friendly staff, although perhaps too few for the volume of customers. We had a great price , a lovely break and would definitely stay again Rhankyou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pewsey

Lovely rooms, beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Lovely room, very well done. Bathroom good, but disappointed with the pressure of shower. Breakfast freshly cooked. Very nice.
5 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Valerie

superb stay

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent value, stayed 6 nights as visiting a number of places in Essex. Room was well appointed with comfortable bed,I think it was a queen size. Breakfast menu was varied and very good. We had dinner each night and the food was extremely good. The Swan is a popular venue for locals who were all very friendly and added to our enjoyment. It was nice that it did not stay open late and so soon became quiet at night.The icing on the cake was the staff. Without exception they were all efficient, hardworking and always pleasant and helpful.We really felt we were made very welcome. Example one evening a large pre-booked dinner party of about 30 failed to show up, this reduced the tables available on what was a busy night but although undoubtedly annoyed the staff maintained their cheerful manner and served everyone with smiles and professionalism.Well done. Thoroughly recommend would definitely stay again..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Had a wonderful and relaxing stay very clean, comfy beds and very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel let down by its food

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, position, decor, staff
Cons: The food.
Location: Thaxted is an historical and very pretty small town, well worth visiting.
The Swan is situated just at the top of Thaxted's main street where it turns a sharp bend to the right and opposite the huge church. The building itself is very old and the extensive ground floor a mixture of a restaurant on each side with a bar, popular with locals, in the middle. It has a warm and friendly ambience that encouraged us to first of all have tea and then, after a walk around the town and to the very attractive windmill, a drink before dinner. Our room No 4 overlooked the road and the church so there was some road noise at night (we left the window open for air) but not enough to be very disturbing. The room and bathroom were both charmingly furnished and painted in subtle heritage colours with attractive modern prints of animals or local framed photographs on the walls. So far so very good. However, I do not think it is acceptable in this modern age to only provide a standard double bed. There was room for a 5 footer and this is what should have been there. Thankfully, due to a mix-up between Expedia and the hotel, it was thought we were travelling with a child and so a sofa bed had been made up and my husband slept in this. The only other downside to this hotel is that the food is really not very good. It is poor pub grub with an air of most items having been bought in partly cooked and only veg being freshly prepared. I like kale but the huge lump on my plate was mostly inedible and microwaved game pie very overcooked. Breakfast was better.