Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nofolk

Post Xmas break

Posted Jan 2, 2018
We arrived to a beautifully refurbished hotel and were checked in very efficiently. The bar and restaurant service later that eve was slow and the waiter had to apologise that over half the items on the menu were not available. Although the breakfast and the service was excellent on both mornings. Our room was at the back and in a quieter location as we had requested and was lovely. Everything for a comfortable stay, good quality towels, toiletries and tea and coffee facilities. The new decor was very tastefully done and although the room was quite small it did not feel at all cramped for the two of us. The room was beautifully clean and lovely quality towels and bed linen. During the day and eve you could very clearly hear the planes overhead from Stansted but it's sort of what you expect when your just a few miles away. Overall a lovely hotel with friendly staff, although perhaps too few for the volume of customers. We had a great price , a lovely break and would definitely stay again Rhankyou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pewsey

Lovely rooms, beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Lovely room, very well done. Bathroom good, but disappointed with the pressure of shower. Breakfast freshly cooked. Very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Had a wonderful and relaxing stay very clean, comfy beds and very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel let down by its food

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, position, decor, staff
Cons: The food.
Location: Thaxted is an historical and very pretty small town, well worth visiting.
The Swan is situated just at the top of Thaxted's main street where it turns a sharp bend to the right and opposite the huge church. The building itself is very old and the extensive ground floor a mixture of a restaurant on each side with a bar, popular with locals, in the middle. It has a warm and friendly ambience that encouraged us to first of all have tea and then, after a walk around the town and to the very attractive windmill, a drink before dinner. Our room No 4 overlooked the road and the church so there was some road noise at night (we left the window open for air) but not enough to be very disturbing. The room and bathroom were both charmingly furnished and painted in subtle heritage colours with attractive modern prints of animals or local framed photographs on the walls. So far so very good. However, I do not think it is acceptable in this modern age to only provide a standard double bed. There was room for a 5 footer and this is what should have been there. Thankfully, due to a mix-up between Expedia and the hotel, it was thought we were travelling with a child and so a sofa bed had been made up and my husband slept in this. The only other downside to this hotel is that the food is really not very good. It is poor pub grub with an air of most items having been bought in partly cooked and only veg being freshly prepared. I like kale but the huge lump on my plate was mostly inedible and microwaved game pie very overcooked. Breakfast was better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Lovely stay in a beautiful location

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The parking, location and history. The breakfasts were also excellent. I enjoyed my stay very much despite what I wrote above
Cons: See above (there wasn't room in here because of character limitation)
Location: North East Essex is one of the most beautiful regions of England. The 'Essex' caricature was always way off the mark and particularly so here
A) My room (Room 11) NEEDS both 1) storage drawers AND 2) a writing surface. It had two small tables but neither had any drawers. One of them was devoted to kettle, cups, tea etc the other had the bedside light and the hotel phone. There was very little room for anything else and certainly nowhere I could store the small things.....personal papers, notebooks, guides, maps, keys, medications etc B) People need to be aware that when they're leaving and taking things out to the car in TWO trips.....if they close the room door the 'key' is no longer valid and they won't be able to use it to get the rest of their stuff C) The staff should be aware that guests sometimes bring their own glasses to drink out of. It took some time for my own glasses to be located somewhere else in the hotel
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Nice hotel in a lovely village.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
We only stayed one night, but found it to be very good and would stay again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enniskerry, Wicklow, Ireland.

Beautiful oldie style village hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Location: Country town with farmlands all around it.
Hotel has character, great young staff, food and drink. We were part of a gang in for the weekend for a local wedding and all agreed that the hotel was class!
3 out of 5
by Alastair

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Built for Rest

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Originally built as a coaching inn... it has always been a place to rest.
Cons: Portion options... I found the meals just a little too big
Location: Situated in the village of Thaxted, which is rather quaint there is much to take in. A nearby windmill is part of the tourist walk.
A few dramas resulted in me booking a room at The Swan and I couldn't have been more pleased. The staff were wonderful, the items on the menu delicious with the servings suiting the hungry individual.