Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rhona

New Year Break

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
Hotel very nice good facilities. Bar limited in opening hours,but there was a caravan park close by (15 minutes walk) or you could walk into town for a night out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel excellent sea view

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Lots of character.
Cons: BREAKFAST... only caters for veggie/vegan guests.
Location: Good location right beside the ferry landing.. dunoon is a nice town with your usual ammenities -leisure facilities etc.
Quiet hotel for the time of year but a veryy pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great views and very welcoming

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location and clenliness
Cons: Vegan is not for everyone and may restrict their business. Unlikely to rebook because of this.
Location: Very handy for the ferry and excellent views. Good walks close.
Superb location next to the ferry with great views. Recently become a Vegan hotel which we were not aware of when booking. Interesting breakfast but I missed my bacon, eggs and beans. We were their very first guests and wish them good fortune with their new venture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Elegant building, lovely bay view from lounge

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The hosts were very helpful in booking dinner, as their restaurant was not currently in operation and they stored our luggage until our ferry was due.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: 30 minute walk to town. Taxi or bus an option. Holy Loch Marina the departure point for Argyll Cruises to the Isles and Lochs of the Argylls.
Staff helpful, spacious room upper floor, lovely building and lounge area with a bar and bay views. Breakfast nothing special. Comfortable room and quiet with view of bay from side window. Bus or taxi into Dunoon accessible for restaurants at dinner.
4 out of 5
by david

Classic older style hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nice older hotel with good views to the water. Spacious and big bathroom. On the far side if wanting to walk into town but ample parking. Goof for a night stay. Staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Nice old English style hotel next to sea/lake

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Nice elegant old English style hotel right infront of the sea or the holy loch extension. Caretakers are nice and make you feel at home. Drawing room where they serve the drinks impressed me the most.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel and great hosts. Breakfast was spot n .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tayport Scotland

Lovely Victorian Hotel in nice location.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Very friendly and helpful staff. This is particularly good if you have a dog as owners love dogs and so you don't feel worried having one. Our room was spacious, clean and had a nice décor. The views from the breakfast room are lovely and we saw some porpoises while having breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Terence

Good choice if you are in the area.

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Our French host was charming and nothing was too much trouble. Room very comfortable and my American companion was very impressed as the last time he was here was in 1991 before the improvements.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Traditional comfort and charming Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hunters Quay is a real gem and probably the best place to stay in Dunoon if you are looking for comfort, charm and great service. The owners were very keen to make sure that our time was enjoyable. Very comfortable and spacious accommodation overlooking Holy Loch and right opposite the ferry to Gourock.