Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenock

TLC needed.

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Location, the lovely old building.
Cons: See experience review above..
Location: A short walk from Western Ferries Terminal at hunters quay, literally across the road.
I booked this hotel to save taking my car across to Dunoon to attend a concert. It is a short taxi ride or bracing walk into the centre of Dunoon along the coastal road/prom. You could see from the outside some work was needed on wooden balconies and facias. Inside what is a grand old building we were met at reception by a strange gassy smell and the owner wearing his thermal down jacket, he is a pleasant guy but he sure needed his jacket as the central heating was not on throughout the hotel. He gave us an upgrade to a seaview room which was nice and warm (electric heater) and looked out onto the Clyde. He also had informed us the bar and restaurant were closed and that renovations were under way.(never saw any tradesmen or vehicles). Had a nice comfy sleep but after running the hot tap for a while in the morning and only cold water coming out I passed on a shower, and while we were offered breakfast we passed on that too. Cannot recommend this for even a short stay until a whole lot of money is spent on the building and rooms. It really could be a grand old style hotel (lovely stairway and stained glass window) but needs a whole lot of work and money invested in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western isles

Seafront Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Booked a budget room which was as expected , clean and comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly
2 out of 5
by Guy

Not good

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Only to repeat what was said already in my previous review, very disappointing. I also had 2 elderly (92 and 88) aunts who had booked directly , only to discover when they arrived that they were not booked in. They had travelled several hundred miles. They were put in an annexe, which was very cold and had to go outside to get to it.
2 out of 5
by Guy

Not a pleasant experience.

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointing. We had visited this hotel and been shown the refurbished rooms, sadly our French guests, who were on their first visit to Scotland, were not given such a room. There was no toilet paper in the room, the water glasses were stuck to the tray. There was no one available who could transfer phone calls to the rooms. All in all very disappointing.
1 out of 5
by ARIFUL

Poor hotel room .

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Awefull poor condition of room and the bed provided , that we left after first night , room had zero ventilation, and damp , Bed is so basic the spring hurts back . Very poor ventilation, Attached bathroom flush makes noice all night .
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Budget room is good value for money

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in a budget room with free breakfast. The hotel itself is a wonderful building but in need of some renovation. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean, comfortable and good value for money. Breakfast was mediocre but for the price we paid it was good value all in all.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and helpful staff. I would definatly recommend to other people. Sadly no wifi in the room
1 out of 5
by Wendy

This hotel is closed for business

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived at this hotel to find a hand scribbled note on the door to say it was closed...no email...no phone call to let us know. We had travelled over 3 hours with my daughter and elderly parents to attend a family wedding. We were left completely stranded. Due to other events being on in dunoon no other accom was available resulting in us having to make the return trip home again that night. Absolutely disgusted with this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Selkirk

This hotel is closed

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel was closed when we arrived to check in. We received absolutely no communication from them to let us know. This left us completely stranded with no one to stay for me, my daughters and 2 elderly parents. Absolutely disgusted.
1 out of 5
by Donald

Disappointing Experience (NOT of HOTEL)

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Cannot rate this hotel as when we got there the hotel was closed due to the Mains Electric being flooded. The hotel owner was there and apologised as the hotel had been closed from the 2nd August and all relevant online booking companies had been informed. We didn't get an email from the booking company until we were already there. So disappointed. On phoning Hotels.com the operator tried to rearrange near by accommodation, but their knowledge of the area was non existent and tried to offer us alternative accommodation on an Island a ferry or two away from where we were with a considerable drive and cost to each possibility.