Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Comfortable hotel conveniently located

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We found our stay pleasant in a great neighborhood convenient to the museums and duomo. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast very good.
2 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel location is amazing; walkable from the train station (about 15 minutes), the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, and many piazzas. The staff is friendly and the hotel is what you paid for: a simple room with a shared bathroom down the hall. The breakfast is a really nice touch. There isn't a sign for the hotel on the street, so pay attention to building numbers!
5 out of 5
by David

Amazing place

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Entrance to this fantastic place is through a courtyard and some stairs which really makes you feel part of the city. Location is as central as it gets but is still very quiet. Our room (20) was massive, had an ensuite and with a view of the Cathedral. Stunning. Fan provided which was perfect. Shower lovely and breakfast very good. Staff friendly. No faults but we found beds a touch hard for us.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Location and charm, but noisy & 79 steps up!!

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
600 year old building, charming room with a 15 foot high ceiling. Room had shower and sink, but bathroom was across the large common seating area. Room was noisy from the late night revelers 5 stories below. Good continental breakfast. Great location 4 blocks from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, etc. About 8 blocks to the train station (we took a cab arriving, walked departing. And oh yes - 79 steps up to our room - be in shape and travel light!
5 out of 5
by Iona

A glimpse of life in Florence

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
I had only two days in Florence and I wanted to optimize my stay by booking a place that was close to everything and could allow me a glance into the local life. I needed a single room with single bed. Hotel Bavaria offered the perfect deal - it is located on one of the floors of a period residential building and staying there felt like staying at someone's home. It gave me a glimpse of the inside atmosphere of local life in typical buildings that would otherwise remain facades hiding mysteries. The room was perfect - bright and cozy. The bathroom was shared but adjacent to the room so, I didn't feel inconvenienced. The only shortcoming was the breakfast - it was extremely basic and cheap, focusing on spreads and crackers that are usually free in North American diners. I mostly ate yogurt and cereal but cereal is not a thing I would usually consider, unless hunger looms. Although I suspected the breakfast might be substandard, I could not book the room without the breakfast (there was no such option). However, there are so many nice little cafes and places to eat well and affordably around that this is not a big minus. All in all, I had a great time in this hotel and it was everything I had hoped it would be.
5 out of 5
by Grace A

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Clean rooms, Fantastic location and helpful staff! would recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017
thanks for your review. we hope we will accommodate your next time in Florence
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Highly Impressed

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Character, size of room, cleanliness.
Cons: Shared bathroom was not convenient but other than that all good.
Location: A stone's throw from the Duomo. Bargello, Palazzo Vechio and Uffizi all very near.
The room was large, warm and spotless. Staff very helpful. Superb location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by lenny, Hotel Management
thank you for your review
5 out of 5
by Ali

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Typical bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: We were in the middle of Florence so it was the best spot for us. There are many sights to see and shops to go to.
The room had two doubles pushed togethee to which i fell through in the middle of the night. No AC so we had the window open and mosquitos came in to feast on us. Breakfast had the typical options like everywhere and was decent. Shared bathrooms were ok but annoying when people pull on the handle until you tell them its occupied.