Ratings based on 1,542 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Beautiful palace turned hotel.

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Location staff building itself
Cons: Decoration of rooms (pairings and color selection of rooms)
Location: Almost everything is near this hotel.
First of all the location of this hotel is simply Perfect. Although its renovated and not the original building it was, it still has the palace feel to it, and old building feel in terms of architecture and structure. we booked two rooms one was spacious the other not, but it wasn't a problem for us. Keep in mind that there is no clothing iron available in this hotel. The staff were wonderful. My only issue was with the color selection of the bedding and the paintings hung in the rooms. my room was black and red which is an uncomfortable combinations.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location!

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Great Location! Wonderful Staff. 2 blocks from Duomo. Wonderful restaurants very close by.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location, nice sized rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Great location to experience Florence. Near some great Panini stores, guaranteeing that you will be well fed for your day ahead. Friendly staff were as accommodating as possible.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

Center of town

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: The location is central, and the breakfast was very nice.
Cons: Alls good
Location: You can just about get to any of the big sites walking from this hotel, so its a good place to start your side trips from.
This hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the Domo center, which is the center of everything in Florence. So this is good place to stay and be able to get around town, walking or just a quick taxi, lot of good places to each everything from quick pizza to fine dinning and everything in between.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Far from Grand

Posted Dec 31, 2017
The Good- The grandest of this hotel is the lobby decor. The staff were pleasant, but they need more help at the front desk. The Bad - first and foremost, two very unfomfortably firm twin beds brought together to make one double bed with only two pillows - cheap furniture, no electrical adaptors in room, electrical outlet came out of wall when girlfriend removed the hair dryer, no wash cloth in bathroom, some mold on tub tile - Again, the bed was the most disappointing. I was much happier at Hotel Balestri for the same $200 US dollars. Good luck! Mark
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terre Haute, Indiana


Posted Dec 28, 2017
This place is fantastic- it’s a couple blocks to the duomo, an easy walk to everything like the Uffizi, the ponte vecchio, even the Santa Maria novella train station. The hotel is very posh, elevators, minibar, grand decor, flavored water in the foyer. Our room had a view of bell towers! Great shower/water pressure and a full buffet breakfast was included. The front desk was friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it as pretty much the best place I’ve stayed in Italy.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta CANADA

Central location and excellent staff

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Though our stay was brief, we enjoyed the wonderful room and friendly, helpful staff. The location is fantastic as it is so central to Florence c
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent location in historic city centre

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Location: Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery are all just a few minutes' walk from the hotel.
Hotel is centrally located next to the Bargello Museum and just a very short walk from Palazzo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery and most of the major tourist spots. Rooms are in good condition; some wear and tear are evident but that may only be my room. The roof top terrace afford very lovely views of both the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio, and is a great place to hang out in the evening. The hotel also has a gym and a spa.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock, California


Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, Customer Service, Room Cleanliness, Staff
Cons: Probably offer Breakfast to those who stay more than 5 days at the hotel. But really nothing to complain about.
Location: Location was in the Heart of Florence. Museums, Churches, Restaurants, Cafe', Just overall the true Italian Experience.
This was by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff friendly, polite, and helpful. Continuously making sure all of our needs were met. Room was amazing, spacious, with breathtaking views. The location of the hotel was just perfect. Less than 0.2 miles away from most major attractions. Overall, my stay at the Grand Cavour Hotel was fantastic from day one until my last day. A must stay hotel and recommend to all. 5/5 Stars
5 out of 5
by Noah

Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Hotels
I could not have been happier with the hotel, the appearance, the amenities and the location. The only downside was that twice the Wifi was either not working or was barely working. But that is a minor nit and did not cause a real major issue with my stay. Overall the hotel itself and the location made my 4 night stay in Florence wonderful.