Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Great location. We were given a large room with enough space to get around however the heating in the room doesn’t work properly. Reception staff is helpful but not exactly very warm. We were a little annoyed when they moved breakfast room to a different floor without clear notice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Forked River NJ

Comfortable accommodations close to everything

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Loved the location as well as the comfort of this hotel.
Cons: The original description noted an onsite bar and a rooftop terrace. The bar was a small beverage area and rooftop was not accessible.
Location: Just a block from the Duomo and surrounded by shopping food, and museums, easy walk to anywhere.
Hotel Axiel offered a clean, comfortable room located right near the Duomo. The hotel was quaint, the staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast was delicious - it was everything we needed for our vacation. I loved the large open windows and our room overlooked the cozy courtyard. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, VA

Small hotel but big on service.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: staff and location
Cons: bathroom showers are awful. despite this, I would still recommend this hotel
Location: within walking distance to EVERYTHING!
Hotel staff was very courteous, friendly, and very helpful in helping us get the most our of our brief stay in Florence. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to friend and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Good location, but not much else

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, physical plant, breakfast
We stayed in a room right on the street, which was extremely noisy at night with people making noise at all hours. The bathroom was dirty, and smelled horrible. The air conditioner leaked water all over the floor, which was apparently expected, because all the front desk did for us was give us some extra towels to place on the floor underneath the unit. The breakfast was lame as well. The only redeeming factor was the location, which was very close to both the Duomo as well as the Uffizi Gallery. We stayed here on the advice of a Rick Steves book, but he really blew it with this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg Canada

Good location but dumpy hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I do not know why people rated this hotel highly. Location-wise it is about a 3 minute walk on a pedestrian mall to the duomo group and walking distance to most of the big attractions. It was a 12 minute walk from the main train station. Good location and maybe that is why it is rated so highly but the place is kind of a dump. Paint was peeling off the walls in the bathroom. The toilet seat was cracked (a really big crack). This shower is so small that the back and front of you touch and I am not overweight. The tv had no international language channels. The bed cover was warm through. The bed was not comfortable. Basically it is old and really tired and worn out place. The breakfast had great coffee and some okay choices. There is a small courtyard that is nice but the couch is so worn out and sagged on one end it is difficult to get out of. The staff are fantastic! Unfortumately the hotel was not worth what we paid nor would we choosen to stay there even at 1/2 The price..We lengthened our stay in Florence and found a 4 star place for a small increase in price.There are better options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Central hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, clean rooms and a good location.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities would be good in the rooms. This was our only disappointment.
Location: The location is ideal and there is so much to do in the immediate area.
The Axial is a pleasant hotel ideally situated in central Florence only 100 yds or so from the Duomo and close to the Piazza della Signoria. An ideal base to explore Firenze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broomfield, CO USA

Nice hotel close to historical sites

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Overall it is a nice hotel within a short walking distance to historical sites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Water getting into the room.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Water was getting into the room from walls. Very musty, mildew. We didn't feel well.
5 out of 5
by Debbie

Great place!!!

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
What a perfect stay. Beautiful little boutique hotel with awesome service! Definitely would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Ana

One of the best locations in Florence

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the hotel, the location and the service. it's in the city center with access to all Florence attractions. I will definitely visit again