Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: centro storico: 2 minutes from Ponte Vecchio, 5 from Piazza della Signoria
We stayed just 1 night in this charming and authentic Italian hotel right in the middle of the Centro Storico and loved every moment of our stay, from Alessio's warm smile of greeting to the origami birds. We chose a room with shared bathroom, which worked out fine and gave us access to a "proper sized" bathroom, rather than an small en-suite. There was a basin in the room. The room itself was fabulous - well appointed, beautifully and appropriately decorated and one of the most comfortable beds (apart from my own) that I have slept in in a long time. If you don't want the glitz and glam of multiple stars, mini bar, satellite tv, air-con (which, to me, would seem incongruous given the age and setting of the building) then this hotel is a must.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best feature is location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
There is no air conditioning, not really hot water, only warm after you let it run a good while, only one toilet and shower for all guests on floor, often waiting, faulty keys, difficult to open, no breakfast, no coffee tea making facilities, disappointed overall with hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Great location. Very clean. Very helpful and pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
by mike

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding assistance with recommendations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest, USA

Centrally located and nice family-run hotel!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, very positive hosts
Cons: Add another chair, another glass, maybe a rug or a clock to make it feel a bit more homey (the hard floors made the room feel colder)
Location: Near to the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi museum, easy walk to train station, and Duomo, a bit farther walk to the Leather Market/Michaeangelo hill
Hotel Cestelli is a very nice family-run hotel! Alessio and Asumi were very welcoming and helpful during our whole stay. We arrived a bit late the first night but they were very accommodating! We booked a room with a shared bathroom and there were no major issues. Everything was clean and we barely ever had to wait to use the bathroom. The room (#2) was simple but good for our needs. We'd probably recommend having another chair in the room and another glass, but there was really no problem. We did have a sink in the room and they gave us a little electric kettle to boil some water. There is only one outlet in the room so plan acordingly, we only had to charge cellphones and just put the chair next to the outlet to lay the phones down. The location is probably the best part of this hotel! Only a 5 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio, it is very centrally located and we even came home in the middle of the day to drop off some bags before heading out again. Alessio and Asumi are the perfect hosts--they had lots of fantastic recommendations of touristy sites to visit as well as some hidden local secrets. Overall we definitely recommend staying at Hotel Cestelli!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly staff, good location, but with some flaws

Posted Jan 8, 2017
That owners are very friendly and helpful, and are nice to talk to. The room is big and spacious and comfortable. The location is very central and convenient. On the downside, you give your key in the morning and can request it again in the evening. It reduces your sense of autonomy and made me less inclined to pop to the hotel during the day as I'd have to ring every time. Having your own set of keys throughout would have been much nicer. The other minus is the shower/toilet - of which there is only one that everyone has to share. It's a lovely hotel, and decent value for money - but not necessarily my first choice if I was to come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely friendly place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You have to bring your towers

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Orbitz
There is just only one tower for 3 days You have to pay for more tower And very cold and noisy.... it is not hotel but hostel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ponte Vecchio Close by

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Love the proprietors, very accommodating
Cons: Breakfast would be nice. Some repair on the floor tiles in the bathroom.
Location: So close the Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, Plaza Vecchio, Pitti Palace right across the bridge, walk to everything from here.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Cestelli mostly because of location and the proprietors are the sweetest couple. We had forgotten that being so close to the action meant noise and lights. It is a lovely old villa and typifies old Florence. The rooms are pretty large and the beds aren't too bad, linens are nice. I find the European mattress to be kind of hard, as it was the same every where. It is clean as someplace this old can get I think. Could use some tile repairs in the bathroom. Spotty wi fi but use able They do not offer breakfast as some of the other places do but the location is unbeatable and the cost pretty reasonable. We paid less than 10 Euro cab fare from train station.