Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from england

Central hideaway

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Update shower rooms.
Location: Very near the centre of Florence and the Duomo.
The location of this hotel was excellent. However I do feel it could do with some updating especially I the shower room .I also think individual fridges in the room would be better than a communal fridge as we had bottles of drink stolen from our area of the fridge .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find in Venice

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: good location, quiet, clean and had breakfast included.
This hotel was ideally located close to the train station. Room was very clean and hotel supplied a continental breakfast which was a perfect start to the day. Would definitely return there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Literally right next to the Duomo

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: location has pros and cons
Cons: the check in process
not a bad hotel, just very old which is not bad because its clean. shared bathroom with the floor. the location is awesome but if you are traveling on the weekend expect it to be very loud at night till early in the morning. Then a street cleaning machine drives by and is also somewhat loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: I loved the location that is steps away from Duomo Square. Even when I was in my room I could hear the people below and the church bells ringing.
Cons: It would have been nice if the hitelmprovidedcliquid hand soap and paper towels in the bathroom. As well, fluffier pillows would improve the stay.
Location: Easy walk to many attractions.
Hotel San Ginovanni offers a wonderful accomidations in a 700 year of age heritage building that is full of character. Do nit let the shared bathroom and showers stop you from giving this unique hotel a try.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Bad surprise

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We booked this hotel following the property that was showed to us on the Expedia website, which showed a decent hotel right in front of the cathedral in the main piazza, only to be dragged to a dungeon at another location, attic room, as we were told, that this was their "annex" hotel. As an insult to injury, we were told by the check in staff that we should feel lucky that their "annex" is walking distance from the actual hotel! Well thank you then! We were also told by the hotel staff that its not their fault that Expedia did actually show us that the room we were being given was not in the actual hotel. An absolute con. I'm truly disappointed about how a reputable site like Expedia can do such a thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We were in the annex building, only two minutes round the corner from the main hotel. Even there the location was fantastic, and for the price you really can't beat it! Room was basic but all you needed providing you spent most of your time out in Florence!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Central and clean with a fantastic view. Could do with air conditioning and an in room safe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
magnificent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Can't get any closer

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Opened my window to see the Duomo, Bapistry & Bell Tower! Very centrally located to all must see sites and museums. So easy to go back to hotel for siesta during hot weather and continue into evening. 8 minute walk from S.M train stn. Umberto went above and beyond to courier my medication left behind. Cozy, old world charm pensione hotel. I will return in heartbeat! Grazie mille
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bizzare hotel. Wifi didn't work.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
If you stay here, leave your bags at the bottom of the stairs. When we checked in, our room was in another building about 300m away. The wifi didn't work, and they didn't want us to pay when we checked in, so we had to go back the next morning when we were checking out, which we then had to miss the lineup time for the Musuem with the David statue because the staff didn't show up til 8am and we had a train to catch. Was not impressed by this hotel. It was a small room with a bathroom down the hall and towels that were non absorbant