Ratings based on 955 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel in perfect central location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This hotel is lovely in every way. It is inside a rambling palace, with a very elegant staircase up to the main rooms on the 4th floor, and then some interesting room locations up and down stairs (don't worry, someone helps with the luggage!). The roof terrace is perfect, with very friendly and attentive staff. The breakfast is simple and good quality. I had a small room, but it didn't matter as I spent most time on the terrace. And there is a brilliant restaurant just around the corner: Rose's -- much much nicer than the slightly nearer ones.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is located in the middle of the middle of the center city. The furniture in the room is VERY old, mattress is not comfortable at all. It's very dust air in there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensburg, PA, USA

Very nice, comfortable hotel close to key sites

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, welcoming atmosphere, professional staff, breakfast, terrace, CNN International and other cable channels, spacious room.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location is very good - few minutes' walk to the arched bridges, less than 10 minutes to the Duomo. Only used a taxi was to reach Piazza Michelangelo.
My travel friend and I stayed at this hotel for the first three nights of our stay in Florence. Our room (2 twins) was more spacious than we expected. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The bathroom, which appeared to be recently renovated, was well-equipped with a bidet and hairdryer. The mattresses were a bit harder than we're used to, but that seems to be typical in Italy. The air conditioning worked very well, a blessing after days of sightseeing in 97-degree temperatures. Breakfast is in a nice, sunny room or can be taken to the terrace. No hot foods, but plenty of choices - hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, pastries. The staff was very pleasant and welcoming. They readily helped with directions and called for a taxi. They always greeted us when we passed through the lobby. As my friend commented, they acted as though they were glad you were guests there. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine on the terrace one evening. Nice view of the city. One evening a violinist played in the piazza just outside. Lovely. Many shops and restaurants just a few steps away. We both were very pleased with the location, amenities and welcoming atmosphere of this well-run hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, rooftop terrace, excellent breakfast...
Location: Perfect location for our needs...close to sites, but also very quiet!
Very comfortable place to stay, within short walking distance to sites, restaurants and train station. Friendly, professional staff were courteous, helpful and fun. A hotel that travelers return to again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Good hotel. Convenient location, near most locations. Excellent staff, especially the concierges and the gentlemen that staffed the bar. The roof top patio was nice and there was a free welcome drink. The room was clean and well sized. Hotel lay out was a bit odd
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by reception desk, Hotel Management
Dear Sir and Madam, we thank you for your good review and we hoe to welcome back once again. Best regards Hotel staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Full of character in a good location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Full of character with very friendly staff
Cons: The continental breakfast is adequate but would be improved with a bit more variety of fresh fruit.
Location: Good location within walking distance of many sites of interest and places to eat.
The hotel is in a convenient position for visiting the many places of interest in Florence and is within walking distance of the train station.The staff are very friendly and all speak and understand English well.It could do with some refurbishment in areas but this only adds to the character and old fashioned charm of the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Marco, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you very much for your review, we'll take care of your note, so we can improve our service, for you and for the other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City

Old World Charm

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Charm of hotel and staff
Location: Easy walk to all that is Florence.
Historic building, frescos on walls, large comfortable rooms furnished with antiques. Rooftop dining....simple menus...terraces on each floor and additional lounges. Staff courteous and eager to help. Fabulous location. Known for literary history. Eager o return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Marco, Hotel Management
Dear Reilly, Thank you very much for your review, we'll wait for you in the next occasion. Thank you Marco
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great location, cute hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Let people know about rooms 452 and 459 before putting them there and give them the option. It would be better to put younger people down there.
Location: Great location, close to Piazza Della Repubbica, easily within walking distance to everything.
I believe our experience at this hotel would have been entirely different if we had a different room. We were put in a room where we had to go to the 4th floor, then weave around through the hotel, across the terrace, then down two flights of winding stairs. There were only two rooms down there. When it was raining we couldn't even go to breakfast without going outside (through the terrace) without getting wet. I was also concerned with security here, as it seemed as if there would have been a major fire safety issue, not why out except the very narrow winding stairs. The bell man had to put our luggage on a dumb waiter to get it down to us and then up again when we left. Also, as two 60 year olds, I was afraid of falling on the stairs, if we had a medical emergency there is NO way a stretcher could have gotten down those stairs, so was just uncomfortable about the entire situation. However, having said that once we were in the room it was nice and extremely quiet, so if that is what you are looking then that would be the room for you. There were only 2 rooms down in that area, rooms 452 and 459. My suggestion would be to be sure you do not get those rooms, or if you like that seclusion then ask for them. Other than that the hotel was nice, the breakfast was nice, and it is in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Marco, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you very much for your review, the hotel is not regular, because fo it was a private residence in the past centuries, we'll wait for you next time, and we'll give to you a different room, in a different position. Thank you Marco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and great lication

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The staff was super friendly and the rooms were very clean. The location was perfect to go all around Florence. The only complaint was the bed was super uncomfortable and after walking around all day and cozy bed is key. The patio bar was super nice but a lot of birds landing beside you which is not the hotels fairly as there are birds everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, staff and rooftop patio - bad AC

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We absolutely loved this hotel! The location is awesome and the rooms were charming. The AC was not sufficient. The breakfast was great and so was the staff! We recommend this hotel!