Ratings based on 2,083 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great location from which to see the sights. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Great location; helpful staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Good service; nice room.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Kimpton. It was close to the museums, and restaurants. The staff was terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Easy check in and out. Friendly personnel. Nice and clean rooms. The hotel offers parking, Which was very convenient. However, it was surprisingly expensive for the city rates.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N/A

Good Location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Front of house staff and entry cards deactivating.
Cons: Front of house staff should be more customer friendly, as were all the other staff, especially the doormen.
Location: Great central location
Stay was very enjoyable, with the exception of front of house staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location, great staff.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The staff, the size of the rooms!
Cons: Can't think of anything but maybe a few more bikes to borrow.
Location: Within 1.5 miles of National Mall and most museums. Lots of restaurants right around the hotel. Starbucks, Ice cream.
My husband and I took our teenage boys to DC for a long weekend. A little family time, some history and a Nats game. After reviewing different hotels in DC I decided on the Kimpton for actually the fact that it could give me adjoining rooms and it had an outdoor pool (which unfortunately we never had a chance to use). When we arrived our rooms were ready and they had secured our request for adjoining rooms. The rooms are fantastic. Huge, clean and comfortable. David at the front desk was absolutely amazing, courteous, efficient and pleasant. The restaurant and bar served delicious food and drinks. The roasted brussel sprouts were out of this world. Servers and bartenders were just as polite and friendly as the hotel staff. The hotel is in a great location. We walked or biked to the National Mall, White House, and museums. Everything is definitely within walking distance. We did Uber to the Nationals game as that is a little too far. Another good spot we found was Mission, a Mexican restaurant, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel; yummy quac and tasty margaritas. Also an ice cream shop next to the hotel that serves rolled ice cream. My boys loved it. And not far from the stadium was a spot called Blue Jackets. I would definitely recommend the Kimpton Palomar in DC. Hope we have a chance to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Nice hotel but bit lack of amenities No fridge in the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Ok location, decent value

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I've stayed at the Omni Shoreham several times and would consider that a 4 star relative to what's available. But the Kimpton, although modern looking, still feels a bit like an older property that just had a facelift. The rooms are large but the building smells old/smokey.. I didn't find the location to be close to anything special, and from what I could tell there wasn't much to do close by or even within the hotel. For the price, id say it's more like a 3.5 star, and if that's what you're going for it's fine. But, I'd prefer the service and style of a hotel like the omni over this any day. also, the "resort fee" or hotel fee these hotels charge for wifi? Just a scammy way of getting more money than what your rate initially stipulates.. don't forget the valet of 50$ a night. So your 200$ room could very well end up being $300!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Great place to meet friends and stay for however long you can. Pool, gym, bar & restaurant are welcoming places. Wonderful location. Will definitely be back. The most fabulous staff!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but location-wise, not the best.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
You need a ride to reach the museum region. Also, there is no coffee machine in the room. You should ask a key from the reception to use the refrigerator in the room. Complimentary coffee is served until 10.00am at the reception. The good thing about the location is that there is a St....ks store at the corner. Another original feature was that you can borrow bicycles from the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel great location

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The rooms here are very spacious and the hotel is very nice. Great location in the upscale downtown DuPont Circle area. Close to everything.