Ratings based on 1,749 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Welcoming and comfortable stay

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Delightful alternative to center city big hotels. Leafy side street so not noisy. The staff was helpful and warm. Renovations are coming to freshen the place. I hope it doesn't get priced into stratosphere. Easily walkable to DuPont Circle and Woodley Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Very nice and accommodating. The wine and cheese at 5pm was a nice treat. I also loved the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland Oregon

Great location. Fabulous staff.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Easy to get places and loved walking the neighborhood. Every staff person we came in contact with was. professional, friendly & super helpful. Shout out to Robert, Shawn & Brandon and the women who helped in the breakfast room. We had little contact with our cleaning staff but they were always friendly when passing in the hall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. I will ensure your comments are passed along to the staff. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The bathroom. The great staff. Quiet.
Came for one night and needed help from the front desk to arrange a flight and get a printed reservation. Life savers. Also they hailed a taxi for me in minutes. Also great coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay. Very please to read the staff was able to help you with your needs. We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Canton, OH

Wedding Desination Center

Posted Nov 3, 2017
We chose to stay at The Normandy as our daughter was getting married in DC and it was the perfect relaxing place, centrally located for all the other venues involved in the wedding plans, to go back to and unwind after each event. The Staff was very kind and helpful. We have stayed here many times and will return again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at the hotel. Very pleased to read the staff was kind and helpful. We look forward to seeing on your return to DC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good Location near Dupont Circle

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The best feature of this hotel is location, close to Dupont Circle. The room was clean, however, the bathroom requires improvement, the sink was very inconvenient, bathroom didn't have ventilation and had dump smell. The coffee machine in the breakfast area was broken.On the positive side, the hotel has a nice outdoor area with chairs and tables.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay. We have taken steps to rectify the problems you experienced while at the hotel. I hope you have an opportunity to return and be a guest in our home again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Moved Me to Another Hotel Without Warning

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Location, if they had honored my reservation.
Cons: Honor reservations.
Knowing that hotels in DC would be packed for the Marine Corps Marathon, I made my reservation at the Normandy (through Expedia) a couple months in advance to get a good rate and to be sure I had a room. I showed up at the hotel and, without any advance warning, was told that they had a problem with their reservation system and I was to be moved to an affiliated hotel nearby. I didn't just fall off the turnip truck and understand that the Normandy likely sold my room to someone else who was willing to pay them MUCH MORE given the fact that the entire city was sold out. The hotel I was moved to was fine - and cost the Normandy more than I would have paid them, but I won't try the Normandy again after this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location + Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Location: Walked down to Dupoint Circle and had breakfast at Cica. Lots of the tour buses pick up at the Washington Hilton which is only a block away.
A cute boutique hotel, in a great location, walking distance to a variety of restaurants. The staff is super friendly and were beyond helpful. This definitely sets them apart from any other hotel that I've stayed at. They have a wonderful selection for their continental breakfast. The room was on the smaller size, but it's super cute. The hallways could use some upkeep and repainting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff! Lovely decor.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Decent location, but bed was Not comfortable, and the Nespresso pods were all empty, which was sad...very helpful and friendly staff though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Good price, quality, location and transportation

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: nice people
Cons: breakfast
Location: walking distance to the metro
very good service and hotel facilities, the breakfast was rather basic