Ratings based on 1,043 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
It’s a good hotel to stay but if you wanna go around DC, you’d better find another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The hotel is decent. It's seen better days but is comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Bad Experience.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: They had complimentary coffee
Cons: 1.Loud Lobby, 2. Roaches in the room 3. Bad WIFI 4. TV did not work
I stayed in a room on the first floor and it was extremely loud. I could hear everyone in the lobby talking loudly until really late. I had to be up really early and could not sleep. In the morning it was also really loud. I was woken up by people in the lobby once again. Overall it was a terrible stay and extremely overprice. The room had roaches and the TV did not work. The Wifi was also terrible. BAD experience. NEVER AGAIN!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Essential facilities and service

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Close to U street bars.
Cons: Provide breakfast facilities.
Location: Nice bars in U street. 20 minutes walk from the White House.
Arrival was not very smooth. No elevator to carry the suitcases to upper floors, no breakfast in the morning (just free tea/coffee during the day, not very easy having tv to work. Rather shabby carpet and furniture. For its price, I expected a bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Good hotel for price and rating

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: Hotel renovations. Used to be able to open windows but individual AC units were added to rooms and windows sealed; big negative for me.
Location: U St. has a lot to do, from restaurants, bars and nightclubs, to theaters and shops. On bus line that goes straight to downtown and close to metro.
Used to serve breakfast, then stopped because people were complaining and posting negative reviews about the quality of the FREE BREAKFAST. Unbelievable. For the price point and location, this is a great hotel. Some new staff are a little iffy, especially the younger black girl working the counter, who couldn't be bothered and seemed annoyed if you asked for help. Bed is small, didn't get much sleep during our stay as a result; marketed as a queen but felt more like a full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in central D.C.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The concierge and service here are excellent.
Cons: The facilities and rooms (at least one) could use some fixes.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and cafes are nearby; the White House and the Washington Monument are about a mile south of the hotel.
I stayed at this hotel during a trip to D.C. for a conference being held at the Hilton nearby. I was very happy with my stay here, particularly with the staff and concierge who were always very helpful and accommodating. As someone new to D.C. trying to find my way around, the people at the front desk were happy to offer tips on what places to go see and how to get around, as well as tips for local restaurants to visit for meals (of which there are several nearby, like Lauriol Plaza on T and 18th). The hotel itself and the facilities are fairly aged, which gives it a certain charm to some like me, but to others might be unsatisfactory; there were noticeable parts of my room where there was a need for some type of light repair or renovation, like a few tiles loose from the shower floor, but nothing that would make the room uninhabitable. The hotel does provide ice machines, coffee and hot water for tea (along with tea bags), a vending machine on the ground floor, a refrigerator in the common area near the front desk, a dining room where one can go for personal work or for breakfasts (although I didn't eat here and can't talk about the food quality), and fine room service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others: if you are particular about facilities or want a flawless suite, this might not be the hotel for you, but in all other respects this hotel is fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It was a cozy charming hotel. The neighborhood was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The only good thing was that it is clean. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.
Cons: Hotel to old for improvement. .
Location: Hotel close to bus lines that can take you anywhere in Washington DC. There is a Starbucks one block away, and a very good Mexican restaurant .
Hotel is converted apartments. The rooms are small. There is no handicap access. There is no elevator or ramps anywhere for wheelchair. There is only 3 rooms with bathtubs. You get a double bed, old television and coffee or tea in lobby. That's about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Location: U St. restaurants and bars are just a few blocks away.
Definitely not worth the price I paid, room was tiny and walls were very thin. Convenient location and good enough for a last minute option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Only problem I had was no toothpaste

Posted Oct 16, 2017
It was no toothpaste,was a little surprise that's all,for the most part it was great.