Ratings based on 915 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville Tennessee

Posted Jun 7, 2018
Fantastic location, historical D.C., value for cost and proximity to D.C. sights are positives. Older rooms and breakfast needs improvement. Reminded me of college dorm without the youthful interruptions. B-
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Posted May 25, 2018
I left this hotel early & stayed somewhere else! Hair on the bathroom walls & hair under the bedsheets! Staff was nice but hotel is very outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2018 by manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear this. I wish you would of told us, We would of offered you a upgraded room for a discount. We will have to speak with our cleaning staff to see why this room was left in this unacceptable condition.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2018
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Does the job.

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Cheap for the area, but you get what you pay for. It does the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Pleasant, safe and quiet

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Conveniently located, nice staff, adequately appointed. Great for the budget-conscious traveler, everything you need and nothing you don’t.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. It is appreciated by the entire staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Dump in a Prime Location

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: The front desk staff were OK.
Cons: This is a hotel that needs to be gutted and renovated. The current infrastructure is unworkable. Needs key cards NOT keys.
Location: Perfect location. Would love to stay in this hotel after a full renovation.
This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in outside the developing world. Booked here during a conference held nearby. While the location is excellent, the hotel is old, run down, and shabby. The cleaners do their best, but some of the dirt is ground in, including substantial marks on the walls, and can't be cleaned off. The ground floor/lobby smells of bug spray. Had I not booked online, I would have sought alternate accommodations after I saw the place. The worst shock occurred after I got home: reeling from the experience of staying there, I read reviews from several years ago about the place having had bed bugs. Wish I had read the reviews more carefully before I booked (I booked principally for location) and gone elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by manager, Hotel Management
Most people enjoy our hotel. Sorry it didn't meet up to your standards. May I suggest a 4 star hotel next time you come to the city. Also some of you comments are very foolish. There is no smell in our lobby and we have never had bed bugs, even several years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasing hotel in quiet area

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: As I said locate on quiet area
Cons: That's better
Location: Quiet area no noisy neighborhood
A simple pleasing hotel that's exactly what I looking for no noisy sounds, for one night to continue the travel. For those who like the economy can save its trip here on this place in DC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Family style hotel. Old facilities. I wonder if the room security is enough. At the same time, it is a clean hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money

Posted Mar 24, 2018 on Hotels
I had a room on the second floor, no privacy if window curtains are open. The room was clean, bed comfortable, adequate towels, shower had plenty of hot water late at night, central heating so not able to adjust temperature or fan, but room was comfortable even though it was 30 degrees and snowing outside. Surprisingly it had the fluffiest nicest toilet tissues rivaling those of 5 star hotels. Breakfast is minimal. If you just need a comfortable, clean room to spend the night, this hotel offers excellent value, if you're expecting something fancy, pay more elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything excellent for the price. Need new mattr

Posted Mar 23, 2018 on Hotels
Everything was excellent except the beds need to be replaced. Too soft and can feel the springs.