Ratings based on 1,491 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
I have stayed at the Strater Hotel many times because the antique furniture is beautiful and the staff is friendly. They greet their guests with a box of chocolates and a hand written note in the room. Also, the hotel is conveniently located in downtown Durango and is in walking distance to the local attractions. I highly recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the box of chocolates. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Enjoyed the guitar player (Tim) in the Belle lounge. It was a party weekend, so there was a lot of street noise. The hotel had a “white noise” machine to use in the room, but I didn’t use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the entertainment in the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

all was perfect and the location excellent

Posted Jan 24, 2018
All was perfect and the location excellent Old west charm and very quite at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2018 by HP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Terrific short stay

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Genuinely old west historic through and through.
Location: Hotel is right on Main Street so the best of historic Durango is just out the front door. Tons of great shopping, eating and drinking places,
We stayed one Saturday night during the MLK holiday weekend in frigid but dry mid-January 2018. In winter the town's all about skiing unless there's no snow as when we were there so the whole town was pretty quiet. But you can't beat Durango for a get-away and you can't beat the historic Strater on Main Street for the full Durango experience. Staff was 110% great; our room was a "standard" room with lots of nice period touches. Comfortable beds and excellent heating. Private hot tub by reservation. Only complaint is that back in the 1880's they didn't know about sound deadening so the unhappy one-year old in the room above us bothered us a little but not for long. Have stayed at the Strater many times over the years, will continue to do so and recommend it to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and review. We strive to have every guest enjoy their stay as you did. Thank you for letting us know. We can't wait to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Classic

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Classic rooms and hotel. Great furnishings smallish bed. Close to everything. Only issue is no parking on site and no street parking after 2am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do have off the street parking available, it is just not attached to our building. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque, NM

Great hotel!!!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
We went to Durango for a short weekend stay. The Strater was the perfect hotel. Everyone was friendly and the rooms were great. We will absolutely be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Beautiful hotel with so much charm!! Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Staff was very helpful and fun to work with. Hotel was beautiful but a bit stuffy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear the staff was helpful. We hope to see again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 91748

beautiful,cozy,convenient.

Posted Dec 24, 2017
I lived here just a day,but I love it. The building is very historic , beautiful. The location is very convenient, you only spent 5 minuets to rail Station. And they supplied delicious food. If I have next chance to here. I will try drink in the bar .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. There is a ton of history here. Be sure to ask for a tour of the hotel next time you're here. Thanks for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Firestone, Co

A Great place to stay

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Old and in perfect condition
Cons: Put 42" TV's high on the wall, move dresser's a little to the left and put a small table beneath the TV.
Location: Every thing and place that we wanted was with in walking distance.
We walked in and said we had reservations. The clerk checked us in and they also helped us with luggage . We got in our room and it was very clean and very cozy. We loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.