Ratings based on 1,521 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar City, UT

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Apr 4, 2018
What a fun place to stay. We parked the car and never got back in it until we were ready to go home. The hotel is in walking distance of everything. WE rode the train up the mountain. There are restaurants everywhere, and entertainment. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by HP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Durango does have a lot to offer, including the train and the restaurants. We look forward to you staying with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Gem

Posted Apr 3, 2018
This was my second stay at the Strater. Every inch of this hotel is beautiful. Even the upstairs hallways are laid out in a creative pattern, reminding us we are not in a modern cookie cutter facility. It was worth a few dollars more to be surrounded by history. One complaint, the first night I woke up to 77° room temp, no A.C., so I opened the window which fortunately was on the quiet side of the building away from street noise. Second night (4/01) A.C. worked fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by HP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Being a historic hotel the heating and cooling system can be an issue. The front desk does have A/C units and fans if ever needed. We are glad everything else was enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun old hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Really really cool old building but room was really small (two people could barely manuever around the furniture) and street was noisy with cars and people partying outside the window til 2am. Bring ear plugs. Excellent location for walking around town though. Clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2018 by HP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our rooms do run on the smaller side being a historic building and being in the central location on busier nights the outside traffic can be noisy at times. Ear plugs are available at the front desk if ever needed. We are glad you enjoyed Durango and hope you visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Elevator not working! However, the front desk offered to carry luggage upstairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by HP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the inconvenience of the elevator but are pleased to hear our staff was accommodating. We hope your stay was still enjoyable and that you visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2018
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Also, the room was very clean and had a comfortable bed and pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank your for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet and charming

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Booked this last minute as a fun way to spend the night in Durango We spring for the upgrade to a deluxe room, honestly though we’re a bit disappointed. It was spacious but aside from that not sure what was deluxe about it. The room accommodations are meager (soaps, towels,etc) shower was pretty meh, bed was so so. I love the historic charm of it all but I think for the price they could improve the quality and keep the vibe. Staff was great though and super helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our Deluxe rooms are quiet a bit larger then our Classic rooms with more spacious bathrooms. We're sorry you did not feel the Deluxe was worth what you paid. We happy to hear our staff were helpful and accommodating. Thank you for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some good and too much bad....

Posted Mar 19, 2018
It's an old hotel so you hear everything. We were in the back so the delivery and garbage trucks woke us up every morning. The hot tub is nice but we only found out about it half way through our trip. Beds are hard and not comfortable. Put pillow top slip covers over the beds! We found the front desk understaffed a couple times. Staff are friendly. There was old water in our ice bucket from a previous desk. Spilled all over the place. The $6 breakfast is not true. They take $3 off your breakfast so if you have certain breakfasts then it is over. Juice and coffee is extra so you are not even close to $6. It's false advertisement by either Expedia or the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your experience was not what we strive for. We will take your comments and use them to improve our services. Thank you for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
I have stayed at the Strater Hotel many times because the antique furniture is beautiful and the staff is friendly. They greet their guests with a box of chocolates and a hand written note in the room. Also, the hotel is conveniently located in downtown Durango and is in walking distance to the local attractions. I highly recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the box of chocolates. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Enjoyed the guitar player (Tim) in the Belle lounge. It was a party weekend, so there was a lot of street noise. The hotel had a “white noise” machine to use in the room, but I didn’t use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2018 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the entertainment in the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

all was perfect and the location excellent

Posted Jan 24, 2018
All was perfect and the location excellent Old west charm and very quite at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2018 by HP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon.