Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerue , nm

This is our third time staying here. We love it

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great hotel. Stay here !!!! Great for families. Stay here. Awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great for a familky

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We stopped here on a road trip and needed extra space for our boys. Having a room upstairs and down made our night so much more relaxing since our kids could go to sleep early in their own bed. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The included breakfast was yummy too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Location: Out of town on the north end. Had to drive back into Durango for any restaurants or stores.
Hotel was run down in appearance from the outside. Rooms were advertised as "suites" but were not. The room had an upstairs bed and one on the main floor with a small table in the corner. No hairdryer or closets in the room! The bathroom was clearly the only renovation that was done on the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sedona , AZ

Disappointing 2-night stay

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Put some furniture in the room and a king-size bed downstairs.
Suitable only for ski vacation. Assume guests would abuse so there is no furniture. Need to lay out clothes on the floor. There are 2 beds but 1 is located up a steep flight of stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

In Major Need of Updating

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: It was trackside!!!!
Cons: Lots, - new mattresses, new plumbing. Chairs outside each room so that you could sit down by your room to watch the trains go by.
Location: The location was just fine. The are some great restaurants in Durango.
We arrived at the Iron Horse Inn on September 16, 2017. Initially we were quite please with the room. As stated, it was trackside which was our reason for choosing it. We we went to bed that evening, we noticed there was no clock in the room and no hair dryer in the room. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in. There was a big bump in the center of the mattress as though 2 heavy people slept on either side and had never ventured to the middle of the bed. My husband ended up sleeping in the extra bed upstairs. The next morning when we tried to shower. Another disaster. The faucets needed updating. You could barely turn them on they were so old, and then it was impossible to turn the water off completely so it just came out of the shower head. To adjust the shower temp was another nightmare. As soon as you got the shower temp right, the water that was coming out of the faucet burned your feet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay older hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The hotel was okay. Breakfast offered no sausage or bacon only scrambled eggs and gravy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: The sound from the room behind us was like they were in our room. Biggest negative at the hotel.
Location: location was out of the town but next to the railroad which we liked
staff was very friendly and bed was comfortable. The host at brekfast was very enjoyable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for watching railway

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Has potential.Could do with some tlc. HOuse keeping poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Away from the conjestion and noise of downtown

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Was pleasantly surprised with the staff, the setting (area), the room, the free (very good) breakfast, and holding of my reservation late into the evening (check in time).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO.

One mile plus E of Montrose, N side of hwy.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Sink drained very slow, told desk clerk about it at breakfast, when we got back to room at 2:50 pm still not fixed. Later that pm my wife laid down to take a little nap, blood spots on pillow. Over a 10 yr period we haved stayed here 3 times. We will never stay here again. PERIOD. .