Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great area

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Nice clean rooms, great views, easy to access from highway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grand rapids, michigan

Trip out west

Posted Jul 25, 2017
We stayed at the Lodge at Tamarron for one night when we picked our daughter up from camp in Mesa Verde. We would have loved to extend our stay but we had a plane to catch the next day in Denver! We would definitely like to return for a longer stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Cons: Room service managed from Purgatory and did not have enough towels for the first day. They had someone bring out towels when I called a second time.
Location: Not too far from Durango.
large room, complete with stove, fridge, microwave, dishes and dishwasher. Very comfortable for 4 to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marshalltown, IA

Wonderful Colorado Setting

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: It's location, the cabin-like feel, and the views.
Cons: I don't know what it would be. We were very comfortable.
Location: Durango is about 15 miles away, plus there are attractions in Purgatory just short drive north, and there are hot springs nearby, as well as camping.
The Lodge at Tamarron is run by a Purgarory business. So when you book through Expedia, call the Lodge to confirm, especially if you make any changes to your reservation. Having said all that, the Lodge is very clean and comfortable, like a cabin in the Colorado mountains. All the rooms are like suites with a fully appointed kitchen. Our room was big enough for our family of four adults and two grandchildren. We would definitely stay here again. The Lodge is north of Durango about 15 miles on Hwy 550.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Everything was great but was not told the pool was not open disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westminster, CO

Beautiful location.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Our overnight stay was just ok. Lodge built in the 70's. Clean but dated. Pool was closed. Surrounding golf course was privately owned, and Very protected by the club. Went for a morning walk and challanged for walking in their sidewalk paths. "Only walk on the blacktop (the street). Sidewalks are for club members only." Not paticularly friendly. Probably won't be back.
5 out of 5
by Annette

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
My son and I really enjoyed staying here. It was very quiet, clean and had amazing views!!! I feel the showers need to be updated a bit, but otherwise it is a great lodge. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Donna

Clean but outdated bedding

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Requested a room with a double bed however was given a room with one bed. Seemed like too much of a hassle to have it fixed since the room was managed by someone other than Tamarron. The bed was a bit hard. Would have preferred to have the more updated room but there was no option to choose. You just get whatever is available. The room was clean, bedding a bit old, some of the extra blankets had gum stuck to it and made it look dirty, but the room was quiet so thats good at least.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Front Range

Still nice after all these years.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The views are and surrounding environment are wonderful. It is a quick drive to Durango.
Cons: Nothing beyond reopening the pool.
Location: I have a fast car and the drive in all directions is fun!
I worked here 30 years ago in college and, while different from what it was, it is still a wonderful environment. The views are stunning. The pool was under renovation so we went up to the Lodge at Purgatory. They were great.
5 out of 5
by Marilyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels