Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spot on the river--close to town. Quiet/clean

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We only saw the hotel staff when we checked in and when we stopped by the front desk to pick up our cookies! They were very friendly, the room was nice, located on the river, quiet and clean. We were close to downtown Durango and could walk to and from dinner and shopping. Nice bike paths for jogging along the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

An upscale hotel right on the rivers in 'High Skii

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The Doubletree in Durango has undergone several avatars over the years. It started off as a Red Lion Hotel. Despite its age, the facilities have been updated and the stay there was very pleasant. The staff is very good and willing to go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The rooms are large and comfortable; with a small refrigerator and the rest of the expected amenities. The Animus River runs right by the back doors. Someone who wanted to fish could step out and do so. There are walking trails adjacent and yet, the hotel is right next to the historic downtown and the famous narrow gage railroad. Even during the high skiing season the rates are modest. Pergatory Ski facilities are 20 minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona (AZ)

Amazing locationew right on the river

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great trip. Staff was friendly and attentive. Love the river view. Overall gray experience in a very well maintained hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the chocolate chip cookies!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and close to town. It's an easy walk to downtown restaurants and shops.
Friendly staff that present you with two cookies upon check-in. Perfect way to start your trip. My room was clean and spacious. Thank you to all who made my stay enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Colinas

A more modern hotel close to downtown.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The maid took good care of our room each day.
Cons: Install better insulated windows to cut down on the street noise. Fix the hot water to scalding water problem.
Location: This Double Tree hotel is one of the more modern hotels available close to down town. You can walk across the street to the Durango to Silverton train
This hotel needs to be updated but is an easy walk to down town. We stayed on the city street side of the 4th floor. There is a lot of traffic noise until about midnight. Beware, the shower had a mind of its own and would change from hot to SCALDING hot for a couple of seconds!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, ease of everything and river views
Cons: bell desk
Location: skiing and hiking river rafting all within 30 mins or closer
Love staying here easy parking and access to everything. Gracious staff and free cookies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesomeness

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very nice hotel. Nicely located. Only complaint goes towards the pillows. Awesome stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Waiter named Brian For breakfast brunch was so attentive and serviceful - he was great!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Nice view of the river

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Good location and beautiful setting. Very friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Downtown Durango is right there and fun to explore.
We enjoyed the pool and hottub and pleasantly surprised to be met with a hot chocolate chip cookie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington

Very Nice

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great, near down town..
Our room was awesome, very clean, very quite and comfy