Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of downtown Durango.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great historical hotel. Very quiet and classy. Great old style saloon with decent music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Great old historical hotel right in downtown!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel is like walking onto a living museum. Beautifully restored and wonderfully decorated! Even the staff wore period clothing. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing Main Ave. Nice view of town. My only complaint for this whole review is the noisy chatter from the bar across the street when the patrons come out to smoke. The hotel does have a "white noise machine" in the room. I turned it on about midnight and it helped immensely! The room itself was lovely, clean and comfortable! Staff was kind and helpful! We enjoyed the little bar right down a couple stairs from the front desk one night, where 4 guys were playing country folk music. Access to to town is right out the hotel's front door. Plenty of shops and cute restaurants. We throughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return next time we are in Durango!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SLC

Perfect downtown location rich in history

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Great restaurants, excellent staff. Walk to everything in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Unusual historic hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The location could not be better, right on Main Street and close to all the shops, restaurants etc. The building is beautiful, chockfull of history.
Cons: The hotel has three designated parking "areas" but the desk clerk was obviously sick of telling people where they are and was terse and impatient.
Location: Don't miss the Saloon attached to the hotel. If you have time, an expedition to the Hot Springs in Pagosa is really great.
The building, its history, its furnishings and general atmosphere are all very charming. The bar/saloon is terrific - live music, lots of fun, engaging staff, full menu from the restaurant available in case you just want to stay right there. Food was good and reasonably priced. Restaurant looked nice, too. The lobby has a cute little seating area with a fireplace. So all that was fine, but our room was disappointing. With charming main street on one side and the historic railroad and the river on the other, we managed to score a dark little room with a view of a dingy alleyway. As it had been billed as a Deluxe, I didn't really think this was OK. If you stay here, be sure to discuss the exact details of the room with them when you book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Durango's best hotel experience

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: It's historic character and great location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Shopping, movies, dining, bookstores, just about anything you wish or need.
We checked in quickly and pleasantly. Helpful staff. We were given drink and breakfast coupons. Our room was spacious, quiet, and clean. Being on Main Avenue, you can walk to just about anything Durango has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Cons: A screen was missing on my window . I felt uncomfortable opening my window
It was like stepping back in time. My family had a great time. We will be back soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Enter the lobby and restaurants And it feels like a quaint place. But the rooms are dated, the staff are college kids who don't come across as professional, and the rooms are noisy. Restaurants and their staff are very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

Strator Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017
It was fun to think about all the people who have stayed here over the years. Very nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Was a little confusing to find the parking for the hotel, very comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, conveniently located hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Lovely old Victorian hotel in central Durango. Helpful staff, good restaurants and close to many other downtown places.