Ratings based on 1,324 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old, period hotel in a great location

Posted May 25, 2017
Very good in general. Only complaint was the room was a little warm at night. Right in downtown Durango with interesting restaurants and brewery's nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The Saloon staff, food,and entertainment.
Cons: Ask before you put someone in a room with an adjoining room. Very noisy!
Location: Very close to the train.
Rooms were small. Staff was pleasant. Very noisy. Very difficult to load and unload luggage as there is no parking close to hotel and things going on in the street with the street blocked off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Great place to stay during a business or vacation stop over in Durango
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis

Classic Hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: No
Location: If you like shopping it's right on Main Street...if you like hiking/fishing there all close to town.
Absolutely beautiful historic hotel! Beautiful walnut antique furniture with period wallpaper. It's truly a remarkable piece of history but has been updated to make it more "comfortable" .....has an elevator to the forth floor....showers....etc...! They have an excellent "period" bar called the Diamond Bell....with great food,drinks and live music ( excellent local talent....not bands)....the staff is top notch!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old American charm in a great location

Posted May 18, 2017
We felt as if we'd stepped back into the old West when we walked into this charming hotel. The rooms are small - like a hotel in Paris might be - but pleasant and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the dinner &breakfast at their adjoining lounge and restaurant were delicious and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bryson City, NC

Fantastic management.

Posted May 17, 2017
Wonderful stay. Great location under fantastic management. Pleasant and helpful staff and great nightly entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected...

Posted May 14, 2017
Okay but not a great place to stay. History buffs might like it better...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Beautiful Strater

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Staff, decor, location.
Location: Ride the train!!
Historic and beautiful. Staff the very best. Great food in the dining room, and the Office bar is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holland,Ohio

Strater Hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: sink was plugged
Location: Train ride was very good, lots of nice shops nearby, plenty of good restaurants
Excellent- only problem was sink would not drain/plugged
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Old Victorian Hotel. Modernized? No.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The decor and the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The maintenance of the elevator, furnishings, and AC system. An easy improvement would be hair dryers in the bathrooms, which are nowadays standard.
Location: Downtown walkable with cute shops/cafés. Mahogany restaurant is pretentious, overpriced, so-so food. Weed shops. Near Mesa Verde cliff dwellings.
We were knocked out by the lobby with its lush wallpaper, original wood trim and fixtures, chandeliers, antique furnishings, and attention to detail in the decór. We checked in with the lovely, perky young people at the front desk and received our keycards for a room on the 3rd floor. We pressed the elevator button and waited. And waited. The elevator dial wasstuck on the 2nd floor. After ten minutes or so, we went back to the desk. I get altitude sickness above 6,000 feet , and we have bad knees, so a third-floor room with no elevator at 6,500 feet would be a deal-breaker! The staff acted as though this happens all the time and it just needed to be "reset." We sat in the lobby for about half an hour and they finally ushered us into the small elevator. The doors refused to close. Fortunately, the manager was able to accommodate us in a room on the ground floor. The room showed the same attention to detail in decór. It was charming! The bathroom was modern, except for the lack of a hair dryer. But it was a sunny day and the room was warm and stuffy, so we tried to turn on the AC. It said "locked," so we called the desk and they said the boiler for the whole building was being repaired so there was no AC; they quickly brought a box fan for the window. Oh, and one of the antiquey chairs in the room was pulling apart at the arm joint, looked ready to collapse.