Ratings based on 1,364 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Hotel is just blocks from the train depot. Everything is in walking distance. The hotel is old so rooms are small but comfortable. They lock the thermostat which makes it a little stuffy. A great Piano bar off the lobby. I would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good classic 19th Century Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location; restaurants.
Cons: The rooms are small, but I doubt that anything can be done about that. It is a classic hotel.
Location: See above.
The Hotel is well located in the heart of downtown Durango, within easy walking distance of the station for the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, and close to restaurants and shops. The restaurants are excellent. The room was good, but not spacious; the bed, as one would expect in a 19th century hotel, was double, not queen or king. There was no refrigerator. A good hotel, but probably not everything you would expect for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our historic nature does make us different from the modern hotels, but it is also what makes us special. There's history in every corner. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt Lake City, Utah

Wonderful location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel. I am in love with this hotel. I definitely want to go back and stay in Louis L'amour's room...room 222.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The L'Amour room is beautiful. We hope to see you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Fun location and history

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Our room had a beautiful view! We loved the history of the hotel and the decor. I didn't love being woken up by the Durango train, but it was a fun sight to see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's funny, you can hear the train from almost anywhere in town but so pretty to see. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Great location but...

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great location. Walk to Train station , shops and restaurants. We did not have an in room coffee pot and out air conditioner did not cool us down. Beds are extremely soft and small. Great for history buffs but once is enough for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We realize our historic nature might not be for everyone but hope you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Don't miss the historic charm and convenience!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: In the heart of town, historic charm, nice staff, good adjoining establishments.
Cons: Room's air conditioning wasn't that effective. The pillows were small and a bit on the hard side. The bathroom was clean but a bit dated.
Location: Durango Silverton Railroad, restaurants, shops, are right outside. The Diamond Belle is great fun and the Mahogany Grille serves excellent food.
Stayed at the Strater for three nights, on the 4th floor. It was our first time in Durango. The hotel has ample parking, amazing Victorian era décor, and several nice attached establishments which are part of the hotel. We went to both the Mahogany Grille (for dinner and breakfast) and also the Diamond Belle Saloon (for drinks and music). The staff members in both the hotel and the adjoining establishments were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as our restaurants and bars. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to train, very good

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Air conditioning temperature was locked by hotel, and couldn't be lowered to comfortable temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our thermostats are locked with a 10 degree range but are sorry to hear you were uncomfortable. We will have our maintenance department double check to make sure things are working properly. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Great overnight getaway

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Location: Go see The Legend of Danny Boy in the Strater Theater.
We really enjoyed our stay at this historic hotel. Unfortunately our room was under the stairs and over the bar so we did have some noise. Overall, the room was clean and nicely decorated in period style. The stay would not have been complete without going to see The Legend of Danny Boy in the Strater Theater! People of all ages would really enjoy this show.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you experienced noise while staying here but are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Legend of Danny Boy. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very high valet parking charge

Posted Jun 26, 2017
No self park available. Room appears dated, small vanity top.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Hello, we do not offer valet and only have self parking available. Perhaps this review was for another property? If so, we hope you enjoyed your time here at the Strater.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Wonderful stay in historic hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The archictecture and the great location so close to everything.
We stayed 2 nights at the Strater Hotel. We booked a train ride on the Durango to Silverton narrow gauge railroad. We didn't realize when we booked this hotel that we would be staying in historic downtown Durango and 2 blocks away from the Depot where we would board the train. We simply parked our vehicle in the provided parking lot and didn't move the vehicle until we left town. The hotel was wonderful with all of the architecture of a historic hotel built in the 1880's but with modern things such as an elevator and an excellent bathroom. It was very warm and the air conditioning did a great job of keeping our room cool. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and plan to stay there next time in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by MR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the train ride. We hope to see you again soon.