Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from okc

Way too expensive

Posted Jul 26, 2016
It was way too expensive. They were price gauging for the summer season. We paid 275 per night. Ridiculous!!! However the hotel was fairly nice and the pool looked good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Pretty good location
Cons: Rates a little high
Location: close to downtown for shopping and dining. plenty of outdoor activities near by
Staff was very friendly except the manager. The maintenance on the building is lacking. Free breakfast was nice. Only about 1/2 mile from Durango.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goodyear, AZ

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Service Clean rooms
Cons: Water pipe noise
Location: Durango Silverton train Outlaw hummer tour Great restaurants - 5 min drive from Main Street
Friendly service Good breakfast Only issue - water pipes had air and made lot of noise in the night. We reported it and they fixed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Nice Accomodations

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: The room and the free breakfast
Cons: Shuttles to the main street area
Location: Long walk to main part of town
Helpful staff, great room, good selection at breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Average hotel in good location.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was helpful and very responsive to our needs. There was no noise from adjacent rooms and overall, the hotel seemed quiet & peaceful.
Cons: Better maintenance or replacement of the noisy air-conditioning. Closer attention to equipment condition.
Location: The most beautiful train ride in the world, the Durango & Silverton Railway, which runs along the Animus River, starts just a mile from the hotel.
Clean and recently updated with nice appointments. The breakfast menu and food preparation were well done and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Although they did miss a wake-up call we ordered. But several small maintenance issues made our stay less than ideal. The air conditioning system was very noisy and not working well. It ran nearly continuously to maintain temperature, which made sleeping difficult. A broken spring in the fold-out mattress made for a poke to remember. A portable bed was ordered to help, but even it had a broken base. The latches on the bedroom doors stuck and made a very loud snap when the doors were opened, waking up the sleeping kids. This room had no view. It was blocked by the adjacent rooms above the lobby area. This hotel faces a major highway on one side & the side of a deep hillside cut on the other. So if you are looking for Rocky Mountain or river views, look elsewhere. But rooms that face the hillside will be very quiet. The room was also quite small, making travel around the furniture a carefully studied effort. Considering the room rates, the room amenities should have been in better order, and have a bit larger layout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Good Location in Durango, that's about it.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Free beer on Tuesday.
Cons: Cleanliness, updated fixtures, new hotel manager.
Location: Too many to name.
Overall we expected a lot more for $260 a night. Maid service did not even empty the trash cans in the morning. The hotel manager should not be in the hospitality business. We received a quick check out envelop on our door the morning we were leaving, which initially was convenient, however when the amount on the invoice differed from the amount our card was charged when we first checked in, I wanted rectify. One of the option listed in the invoice envelop was to check out at the front desk and receive a finalized bill. I went to do that and literally had the statement thrown back at me and told I was done and that was the final amount. I guess I aggravated him. The only reason I did not give one star was because there was free beer on Tuesday night and the hostess working was nice to my family and I and when we had to change the sheets one night when one of my daughters had an accident the maid came quickly and was incredibly accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice place to stay

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room. Just what I was looking for.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walking distance to the downtown area. It was fun.
It was a nice stay. Comfortable and the staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Durango Fort Lewis

Posted May 6, 2015
The hotel was very nice, just a little expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Cons: Couch was not very comfortable.
Overall a good place to stay. Good location and very good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Trip to Durango

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Size of bedroom with king bed; staff directions to rooms upstairs -could mention where the elevator is located!
Location: Durango -Silverton RR station close by in Historic Durango section
Hotel is tucked away off the main street at the end of the main action of Durango. Nice, quiet location. Suite concept was very handy. Bedroom is not very large, but accommodations were very clean and appealing. Standard breakfast offerings were appreciated also.