Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Perfect location and beautifully decorated hotel. Breakfast was delicious and included with the room rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The king size 4 poster bed was incredible!! It was like going back in time, a lovely stay close to shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Everything was perfect. The room was well appointed, comfortable, a quality experience all around. The breakfast provided was just what I was looking for. For a WINTER VISIT, IT COULDN'T BE BEAT.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy parking, easy to get to restaurants. Cosy

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Great staff in wonderful old hotel. Love this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Quiet elegance

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We have stayed at the General Palmer 5 times over the past 15 years. The staff is great, and the rooms are nicely furnished. Peaceful and beautiful!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central US

Hot and bathroom door didn't latch

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Outstanding charm and location
Cons: Fix air conditioner, and fix door latch
The bathroom door could not be closed or locked. Latch did not line up.. The temperature in the room (interior, not on outside wall) was super hot and could not be controlled. No window to let cool air in. The rest of the stay was outstanding but could not recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for road trip rest

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Right on Main Street, excellent location for a short (or long) walk around town.
We only spent one night during a long road trip at the hotel. The room was spacious, clean, and right in the middle of town. It was an easy walk to many choices for dinner. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at a nearby cafe the next morning. An excellent, restful stop, good value for money, and a place will will visit again if possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: History, location, cleanliness
Cons: A/C Staff awareness
Location: Great location in the heart of the Historical District
Everything about this hotel was 5 star with one exception; A/C. Our room never got below 78 degrees. And when we called the front desk we were told the hotel was on central air so all we could do was open the window above the door to let air in from the hallway. No offers to move us. Very disappointing. Everything else was first class. Very clean. Lots of history. Great location !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Wonderful hotel in downtown Durango--very friendly staff. The room was large and very modern and clean. The breakfast was good and the hotel provided coffee and tea in the lobby all day. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Location: The location was wonderful. Lots of local things to do and see/
Great location. The staff was extraordinary. The room was very comfortable. The ceiling stained glass window was wonderful during the day, however at 6 am it was a little bright. I would stay there again and give it a great recommendation. I fly internationally a lot. It was a great get away.