Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016
We loved our stay in the General Palmer. The rooms were exceptional, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was very friendly and informative.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Short but Sweet

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Character, quality, attention to detail, staff.
Location: Center of town with wonderful small boutiques, travel outfitters and restaurants as well as the historic railroad immediately nearby.
Although our room was small, typical of the era in which it had been built, it was tastefully updated, extremely functional and no detail had been overlooked. From linen napkins with the coffee service to lined wastebaskets(not plastic bags) and relaxing CDs to play as one drifted off to sleep, it made the end of the day perfect. Breakfast in the morning tied it with a bow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Room did not have a window. Breakfast was not as expected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque NM

Historic & Charming Hotel At A Fair Price!

Posted May 14, 2016
A very historic hotel with all the comforts of home. The solarium is so inviting and relaxing. All of the antique furniture was an added charm. The morning breakfast buffet had a great selection to choose from. Also, there was ample free parking for hotel guests. It was convenient to the train station and to the main street stores in a very walkable community! We will definitely return to this hotel again and again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, central location

Posted May 6, 2016
Location: Durango to Silverton railway very close by. Museum is worth a visit
Well located in the historic downtown area of Durango Very friendly, helpful staff Hotel decor reflects the period of Durango's heyday Lovely room with comfortable bed and fluffy pillows
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Climbing stairs and room location away from main hotel a surprise but accommodations were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous historic hotel in heart of Durango

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Enjoyed it all but bring a pair of earplugs. First night sleep interrupted by noise from partying college students. Second night, guest next door snuck in (unknown to hotel staff) two small dogs who yapped until I yelled at them to "go to bed!" through the wall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceeds expectations, awesome value.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I stayed during off peak times and was only traveling from an hour away, but holy cow what a value for a such a beautiful place. It's very unassuming and the staff seems to maintain the atmosphere pretty effortlessly. It will be the first place I check availability for when staying in Durango.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Great weekend visit

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent, the hotel was very clean and rooms were comfortable. Love the historic hotel!
Cons: Make sure the rooms are listed as a window or non window room.
Location: Shopping, dining and the Durango Silverton Train are in close walking distance.
Booked a deluxe king room, which I assumed would be a room with a window. We got a room without a window. Ok for the first night, but had to run fans all night. The next morning we were moved to a room with a window! Much nicer. Staff was excellent from the time we arrived to the time we left. Wonderful hotel and we will stay there again! Close to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Breakfast was nice with eggs, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, bagels and more.