Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Mar 23, 2017
This was a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the original building and, while small, the room was charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Lovely downtown hotel with comfortable beds and facilities. It is within walking distance to food, drinks, and entertainment. Lovely breakfast that you can eat as you watch the last cal train pull away from the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great location

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Walking distance to cute shops and many cafes Parking is free so don't pay in advance for parking!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
No early check-in One person elevator ....but cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Fantastically friendly staff, cozy and updated rooms, great shower and comfy bed. Cute views of downtown and the train. Couldn't have asked for anything more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A historic hotel in good condition.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The Victorian architecture..
Cons: A continental breakfast was included in the price. the spread was rather sparse. You had to walk from the breakfast room to the lobby to get coffee.
Location: The Durango and Rio Grande Narrow Guage Railway station is nearby. It has scenic excursions to Silverton. Durango Purgatory Ski Area is 23 miles.
Had a pleasant stay in a well-kept 19th century hotel. The condition and comfort of the hotel were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Period hotel very close to the station

Posted Mar 2, 2017
We stayed here two nights in March 2017. The only negative was not the hotel's fault - there was a snow storm and the plows were clearing the main street at 4 am or so. Our room was very pleasant - comfortable king bed, en suite bath and windows overlooking Main street. If you are going to take the train ride, this is the closest hotel. There is breakfast (basic) included in the price, but if you want to go elsewhere all the restaurants on Main street are within easy walking distance and Jean Pierre bakery and Starbucks are just yards away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Great Hotel with lots of Charm.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We have stayed at the General Palmer three times over the past two years. The Hotel is over 100 years old. It's always very clean and comfortable and convenient to all restaurants, etc. in downtown Durango.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: charming
Cons: maybe have a few beds that are real firm. Yours are not too bad but, my husband could only stay in bed till 4 a.m. the bed was just a little too soft
Location: snowmobiling.
everything was wonderful only one thing I wish Hotels would have some rooms with extra firm beds for people who have back trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broomfield, CO

Beautiful hotel right downtown!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The bed was amazingly comfortable, there were comfy bathrobes and excellent coffee, and there was classical music playing in the room when I arrived!
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: It's right downtown, next to the train station and lots of restaurants and shops. It's a five minute drive to the campus as well.
I had a wonderful experience at the General Palmer Hotel! The location can't be beat, there is plenty of parking (which is hard to come by in downtown Durango), and the room was beautiful. It was perfect for me while I was visiting my daughter at college.