Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Magretia

Just plain exquisite...

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Spacious, Stunningly decorated, Friendly and professional staff, super clean...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately my trip was cut short so my stay at the hotel was not as long as expected but while I was there everything was very nice with good customer service and cleanliness. A 4 on condition as there were works going on in the hotel. This was explained and I accepted the need. Did not have much time to explore the local area but what I did see was OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor facilities !!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We are a group of 6 adults who stayed at the hotel for 3 nights , the hotels facilities were very poor with no restaurant or bar facilities available which we should have been informed about before we arrived also one of our party was awoken in the early hours by noise from another room close by , they were moved the next day but the room they were moved to wasn' t cleaned properly so all in all it was a very disappointing stay .
5 out of 5
by nisha jagadasan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from umtata

excellent 10/10

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
i had a great time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very poor Restuarant

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
You have spent a lot of money and time to upgrade your hotel and it looks very good. The rooms are nice and luxurious, kept clean and neat. Your staff is friendly and very helpful, BUT I will not stay in your Hotel again. The reason is the extremely poor Restaurant. I have complained about it before, had a long discussion with your Manager and was given a voucher to compensate me. Since then I have stayed in you hotel again for a couple of times, and I am sad to tell you that the restaurant has gone from bad to worst. The cutlery is now very cheap thin spoons and forks; they don’t even have milk jars for the milk on the tables and are using cappuccino cups for this purpose. It is not possible to pour your milk without spilling. Every morning I had to “fish” for a clean plate to get my breakfast served. The mixture for the scrambled eggs or omelettes are made in advance and by the time it is used, it looks like curdled butter and tastes even worst. The breakfast food is of very poor quality, the staff is unfriendly, and it is expensive compared to other hotels. R135.00 for a very poor breakfast is not acceptable. The manager is more interested in chatting with his staff than to actually ask customers how their meals are etc. you get the idea that he knows how poor it is an is doing everything to avoid speaking to customers. The menu for other meals has not change for the last 2 year, except for the price. Again poor value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel great, restaurant & bar stocked service poor

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The clean rooms, good housekeeping and friendly housekeeping and front desk staff. The spa was also great next door.
Cons: Restaurant service poor and quality of food hit and miss. Apparently hotel restaurant run by a separate company? Let down the 4 stars of hotel.
Location: Gateway mall great for rainy days.
The hotel rooms were clean, the reception receptive and great service. Housekeeping excellent job. Hotel restaurant / room service fairly poor. Room service took up to 2 hours for a sandwhich and gin and tonic. The slow service happened to our group of 14 people daily. The bar ran out of gin and tonic, beers and coke. This was after a busy weekend. Bar still hadn't been stocked by Monday late afternoon till we complained. There were empty bottles behind bar of alcohol giving appearance of being stocked. Ran out of other drinks as well. The bar staff looked a bit well worn and not always clean, ie clean hair and etc to usual service required standards of a 4 star hotel. The service in the restaurant was mostly slow when ordering al la crate and again the wait could be an hour or so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but could be better

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
- The neighbours were noisy guests - Housekeeping did not refresh the room even though we left the sign indicating that. - Parking security were not friendly, almost rude and interrogating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
I was not impressed. Firstly I did my booking on line & when I arrived at the hotel my booking could not be found on the system. After about 15 mins the receptionist came back to me saying that my booking did not come through the system. Eventually it was sorted out. My room was very nice but the bathroom tiles in the bath/shower was very gritty from soap that has not been washed off properly over time. When we were leaving we were locked in our room as the faulty lock on the door did not open. They had to send the maintenance guy up to our room to have it unlocked. This is totally unacceptable, if there was a fire we would not off being able to get out of the room.