Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Linley

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
sucked
3 out of 5
by Ponalo

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The booking was a messed up. Although we were a travelling party of 4, we found only one room booked for us. This resulted in 2 members of my party having to sleep on the floor. The hotel stated that the system had booked only one room, but my booking confirmation reflected 2 rooms for 4 people, with twin beds. Other than this mix up, our stay fine. Could have been better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Disappointment

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Train the staff please.
Location: Fifty years ago this area on the main beach road of Durban was a prime spot. Now it is a bit of a crime infested area.
The Hotel was fully booked according to the Trade Association that hosted the symposium which I attended. I also called them and they were fully booked. I tried through Expedia and I got a booking! Great for Expedia! Some of the delegates could only access their rooms about two hours late. The one woman had a man enter her room unexpectedly. This guy was extremely apologetic but there was an administrative blunder, the hotel gave two guests the same room, both with access via a "key card"! I did not hang a "do not disturb" card on the outside of the hotel room, but the cleaners frequently knocked on my door from quite early to enquire if they cannot start cleaning yet. While the symposium was in process some staff members were chatting directly outside the door. I do not know why it was necessary, because they were standing almost next to each other, but they were shouting at each other which created a irritating disturbance inside the symposium hall. Wine and sparkling wine that should have been presented cold was room temperature. The Hall for the Gala dinner was only ready 40 minutes late. I had a "telephone" item on my bill of almost one hour while I did not use the telephone at all.
5 out of 5
by Sifiso

excellent

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
It was so good the services and the staff are friendly
5 out of 5
by Candice

Amazing Service

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was pleasant. Booked a Standard room and got upgraded to a Family room at no extra cost.
5 out of 5
by Liesl

Old-world charm - value for money!

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The service from reception, the porters and housekeeping was friendly and efficient, but the service from the restaurant in the morning on the veranda was a bit slow. Overall though, a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by PDS

Plesent stay

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Good place, very friendly staff especially at guest services
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Grand Old Lady still a jewel in the Golden Mile

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Best staff ever. They accommodated our every request, friendly, helpful and did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Location and my needs

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Location to the beach and taxi distances to my destinations made it central. Staff were pleasant but at times need to focus on sharp delivery, quick and efficient presentation.