Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jakarta

very nice and clean rooms

Posted May 24, 2017
although check in process seems a bit lengthy , overall staf treatment was very welcoming. room was very clean and comfortable; nice long strong hot showers. only complain was they had a problem with the room keys that we had to go back to reception to get fixed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Umhlanga

Indaba

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 17, 2017
Ordered food three times and didn't get what I asked for. Not a big deal, ate it anyway and couldn't be bothered to complain. Staff seem to be very distracted- messing and joking around a lot.
5 out of 5
by Nomfundo

Excellent

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay and accomodated my son's needs excellently
3 out of 5
by Anand

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Access cards not working well Bad Attitude of security guards Quality of service (no bottled water after servicing of room) 4 sleeper unit only 2 towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The only problem is with the key card system. It doesn't work well, keep having to get them re-programmed as they don't always work in the lifts and the room. You end up feeling a fool because you can't get the lifts to work and you are standing there with other people looking on. It's so frustrating!.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
amazing,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hluhluwe, KZN

I won't go back.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
I've stayed at the Protea at Gateway several times. It's never been stellar but the location more than made up for the just pretty good experience. This trip though, will be my last. Hair in the sink, dirt in the floor, no air movement in the upper floor bedroom of the suite. And there was loud noise from surrounding rooms all night long. Staff said something about being fully booked so they couldn't move my room, as if they knew they were putting me in a position where sleeping would be impossible. At this price, much more could be done to make guests comfortable. While the staff is fairly professional, they don't seem to care, for the most part.
4 out of 5
by Gugu

Home away from home

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was great. The breakfast was fantastic. Nice and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Supratim

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely comfortable and an efficient staff at the desk to help out. very courteous staff at the breakfast table