Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mary Alice

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
All you could ask for & more!
4 out of 5
by Lize-Marie

Comfortable stay, good location

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The room and bathroom we stayed in was spacious. The breakfast was well prepared and hearty. The location is great . The service is professional. If you are looking for a comfortable stay this is the place, but if you are looking for more character and a cosy atmosphere this might not be for you. I would suggest this more for the business traveller. In summer it could be better as it has a nice pool area.
5 out of 5
by Bettwsy-Anne

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
A delightful manager Amanda who welcomed us. Peaceful and comfortable night with great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bettwsy-Anne Thank you for taking the time to write us this nice review. It was nice to meet you and welcoming you at Sylvan Grove. We really hope we will see you again when you are in this area! Warm Regards Amanda & Team
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very Quiet Location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Although this is just a bed and breakfast establishment it is very good for short stays. With a "pet" taxi driver going into the town was not a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Dear Sue Thank you taking the time to write us a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in the future again. Warm Regards Amanda &Team
1 out of 5
by Stacey-Lee from Johannesburg

Additional charges of R1000+ at departure.

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
We booked via hotels.com. We booked for a family of three. We were charged online for the full amount, or so it stated on the receipt. At the end of our stay, we were given a charge of R1035.00 due to our son not being paid for. When queried, the manager stated that it has happened before, but failed to check this detail when we arrived, or better yet, before we departed! Terrible oversight of something that has happened on other occasions. This should be noted when a booking for 2 adults, and 1 child they need to physically check if the child has been paid for. This is an extra R1000+ that was never accounted for in our budget, and having known this from day 1, the staff should have surely given us advance warning. Especially with an establishment that only has 6 rooms. If this did not occur, I would give the establishment high praise, but this is a costly oversight that, as stated, could have been corrected in due time. Especially since we booked 3 months before our departure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Dear Stacey Lee Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are very sorry that you were not aware that the child was not included in the rate. We will make a point to mention it to our guests upon checking. Otherwise we have glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice meeting you. Kind Regards Amanda Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing venue

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
End of holiday stop for relaxing and shopping at enormous local mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay and the shopping mall ! Hope to see you one day again ! Kind Regards Amanda - Manager
5 out of 5
by ildar from Moscow

great venue with excellent service

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Amanda made every effort to make our stay comfortable and memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016
Dear Ildar Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. I am so happy you really enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to have you here. Warm Regards Manager - Amanda
4 out of 5
by ALAN from Howick

Brief but comfortable

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
It was brief, as flying early next morning. We were very comfortable and happy with our choice.
5 out of 5
by Lindsay

warm, friendly and welcoming

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Tim was so warm, friendly and welcoming. Lovely neat place. A definite to stay at again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was short but lovely. The bathroom light was flickering, so the bulb needs replacing. Great place, will definitely stay there again.